Caramel Chocolate Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This caramel sauce was DELICIOUS!! Instead of placing in paper bag to mix I used a bowl (but this sets up quickly so had to mix fast)! Did not place in microwave, but oven at 300 for 8 minutes on parchment (and it wanted to stick). I did not use microwave popcorn. Instead of milk chocolate, I used 2 cubes of semi-sweet chocolate bark. I drizzled white chocolate over this popcorn after the photo was taken! Make sure to store (if it does all get eaten after it comes out of the oven) quickly so the popcorn doesn't dry out. I will buy a premium popcorn to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
This was a delicous recipe but I would alter it next time and use dark semi-sweet chocolate instead. The milk chocalate made this too sweet for me and I am a big fan of milk chocolate. I also had to add more shortening to the chocolate to get it to the right consistency. It may have been the chocolate - I used Ghiradelli's milk chocolate chips. Great caramel corn sensation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Easiest caramel corn recipe I've found yet. I don't trust my microwave so I cooked the caramel recipe in a sauce pan on the stove but followed the rest of the recipe as written and it came out perfectly. I didn't get to put any chocolate on the caramel corn because I couldn't get my family to leave it alone long enough to cool, but I'm planning to try it with the chocolate next time. This recipe deserves an extra star because it was so easy to clean up afterwards. You throw away the piece of equiptment that gets the dirtiest, the paper bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Very, very, very good! I just finished making a batch of this and it is fantastic. My husband will not get home from work for another hour so he may not get any :) It is much easier to make than the instructions let on. A new holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Excellent! I made it once the way the recipe read (except in a bowl instead of a bag since I didn't have a bag big enough). It was good but the popcorn was mushy. This time I made the caramel sauce, poured it over the popcorn and then placed the popcorn on a parchment lined cookie sheet. I placed the cookie sheet in the oven for about 8-10 minutes at 350. Then I drizzled the chocolate. I used semi-sweet. To help with the drizzle problem, I melted 1 cup chocolate chips with about a tablespoon of butter and then added about 1/2 cup milk. This allowed it to actually drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Be sure to get rid of the unpopped corn kernals before you begin, you can really hurt yourself taking a hard bite on one. Other than that, this a wonderful fix for chocolate and salt lovers like myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
I liked this popcorn recipe. I used the recipe for a bake sale at our company. It was all sold very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
Very quick, easy to make and yummy! I substituted pecans for the peanuts. I did have a little trouble with the chocolate. I think I overheated it. Still tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
fantastic! I made it exactly as listed in the microwave, except that I didn't have peanuts so I left those out. The only caution I would have is make sure you watch the sugar syrup while it boils so it doesn't overflow. I was amazed that this worked so well, all in the microwave! I will totally be making caramel corn more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Ok, so there is no reason that something this sinful should be this easy to throw together on a whim! We wanted a sweet treat instead of the plain old popcorn for a Saturday night movie and ran into this recipe. Followed everything exactly as written. In 20 minutes, we were shoving handfuls of this caramely, chocolatey, popcorn deliciousness into our mouths at record speed. LOVED IT! Had NO idea caramel popcorn is this easy to make. Will be doing this again and again!! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States