Caramel Chocolate Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Easier to make than it sounds. I didn't have any paper bags, so I just used bowls, and stirred carefully rather than shaking the bag. It worked great. Drizzling the chocolate worked with a spatula worked fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This popcorn turned out great - better than store-bought. I air popped my popcorn - which cut back on calories a bit. :) It sounds like a lot of steps, but it is REALLY easy to make. I had some problems with the chocolate though - getting it to go on evenly, so on my second batch, I just left the chocolate off and we liked it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Great! I couldn't believe how simple this was in the microwave, and it tastes very similar to a version a friend of mine paid $18 for a small tin of from the Boy Scouts a couple years ago. I wasn't sure about doing the caramel coating in the microwave, but I was feeling lazy and didn't want to boil sugar on the stove. This worked perfect. And the paper bag trick made the whole process a breeze. My kid had fun helping shake the mix, too. I'm curious whether the paper bag might work for mixing the chocolate coating, too. I had some trouble getting it even--it turned out rather patchy. I used microwave "lite" popcorn and diet margarine to save a few calories. I found that two bags of cheap microwave popcorn gave me exactly 16 cups, and the caramel mixture covered it well. I used candiquick instead of chips like i saw recommended here, but 1 cup didn't cover it as much as I'd have liked--the scouts' version looks like every piece is dipped individually and mine turned out pretty uneven. Still, this was very rich and delicious. My 4 year old isn't crazy about chocolate (believe it or not), but it was all I could do to keep her from eating it all before it was even cool! Luckily my husband wasn't home when I made this or I might not have gotten any, either. I'm going to take some to work tomorrow and watch people's eyes roll back in their heads in delight! Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is super YUMMY! At first when reading the recipe it seemed like lots of steps to do but it goes really pretty quickly. My husband and I made three batches one night to take to a "cake walk" the next day. We had a hard time not eating it all! When we gave some to our friends and family it received rave reviews. This is so yummy the chocolate is not even necessary! When I put the chocolate on it, I used the candy making chocolate as it always sets up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
LOVE IT!! Very easy to make, even easier to clean up! Next time I will experiment with different kinds of chocolate, the chocolate chips didn't really "set".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Yummy!! Obviously if you don't like cracker jacks in the first place, it is unfair to give this recipe a poor rating because it is like cracker jacks. Sooo easy, with fantastic results, and quick clean up!! A few tips; have a spatula ready to get all of the caramel mixture into the bagged popcorn before it cools as it does cool quickly. Also I had to stir mine after microwaving because all of the popcorn did not get covered. I used my hot air popper to elimimate the seeds and also to get crispier popcorn (I love it made on the stove top with canola oil, but perhaps that is why it wouldn't be crispy??). Due to a chocolate shortage, I was only able to do half of the batch with the chocolate and found that we do like it better without it. Thanks for sharing you easy, yummy recipe Jen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Easiest caramel corn recipe I've found yet. I don't trust my microwave so I cooked the caramel recipe in a sauce pan on the stove but followed the rest of the recipe as written and it came out perfectly. I didn't get to put any chocolate on the caramel corn because I couldn't get my family to leave it alone long enough to cool, but I'm planning to try it with the chocolate next time. This recipe deserves an extra star because it was so easy to clean up afterwards. You throw away the piece of equiptment that gets the dirtiest, the paper bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I'm a HUGE popcorn fan, usually eating it plain, but I had to try this variation to spice it up a bit and I was VERY PLEASED! Surprisingly I didn't care for the chocolate, I can never get it to melt just right. So I just skip that step and call it caramel corn! It's GREAT! I like it even better the next day when it has a chance to "sit" a bit. I used regular planters salted peanuts. Plus I always make the popcron on the stove with olive oil. Remove any kernels like another viewer suggested. I love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I didnt love this recipe. Microwave recipes are difficult and leave a lot of guessing because they arent all created equal. I have a 1000 watt microwave and reduced each cooking time by more than a minute and the popcorn still scorched. It did, however, stay crisp. In fact, I had no trouble with my popcorn being gooey or soggy. Still, after tossing out the burned kernels, my husband really enjoyed the treat. He said it reminded him a lot of Cracker Jacks. Unfortunately I never liked that snack either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Be sure to get rid of the unpopped corn kernals before you begin, you can really hurt yourself taking a hard bite on one. Other than that, this a wonderful fix for chocolate and salt lovers like myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States