Caramel Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
Great flavor, very sweet! A few notes: Cook to a temperature of about 240 for a chewy caramel; make sure NOT to use a non-stick saucepan; also make sure to grease the pan--cooking spray works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
All that sugar, butter, cream to waste! I followed the recipe exactly, heated to 250 degrees and my caramel ended up rock hard. I bent two spatulas and a knife trying to get it out of the pan (which was HEAVILY buttered). The best part was when I was man-handling the candy to get it out of the pan and the caramel CUT me! Tip: Do NOT heat this to 250, follow the other reviewers and heat to 240 or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Wonderful! I made these for Christmas and got rave reviews. I cooked the mixture to about 238 deg. and it's chewy, but doesn't get stuck in your teeth. It's a little hard to remove from the pan.... make sure you coat the pan well w/ butter or spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missouri City, Texas, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
After reading everyones reviews, I cooked only till 238 degrees and lined my pan with parchment paper and greased the paper well..had no problem lifting out the entire square (leave an overhang of parchment paper so this can be done with ease), peeling off the paper and cutting the squares with a greased knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Perfect! I boiled it to 250 on the dot. They turned out great, chewy but firm enough to wrap easily. Also I used one of those foil cookies sheets that come in sets of 2 and are about $1.20 to pour the caramels into. It made everything simpler, and I didn't have to worry about scratching my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I was optimistic in making these but was somewhat disappointed with the results. First of all, I had to dump my mixture into a large pan because a medium pan was way too small. The mixture would have boiled over. Second, it took FOREVER to get the mixture to heat up. I finally heated it up to 255 or so. When it cooled, it was hard as a ROCK! Definitely butter the 8X8 dish....it's needed. I couldn't cut the caramel so I put it in a bag and beat it with a hammer (I know that probably sounds funny). The little chunks it made were good but hard. I probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I didn't know caramel candies could be so easy! Much easier than other recipes-- and more successful too! I didn't have whole milk so I tried 1% instead. They still turned out wonderful! Thanks for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
These are decadent! I had some issues with my candy thermometer, but I cooked it to about 250. I poured the mixture into a greased 8x8 pan. If I do it again, I will definitely line the pan with parchment or teflon coated foil. Once the squares were cut, I stuck them in the fridge for a few minutes, then wrapped them in 3" squares of waxed paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These are easy and delicious. Make sure you use a large enough pan, at least a 3 qt sauce pan, because when the sauce boils, it increases in volume quite a bit. We used both a candy thermometer and the cold water method. I don't think you want to go all the way to the hard ball stage if you want chewy caramels. We used the soft ball stage, which was 252 on our thermometer. We also lined the 8X8 pan with wax paper, letting it hang over the sides of the pan, for easy removal of the candy. A pizza cutter was handy for cutting the candy once we had cut it into strips with a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States