Caramel Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Amazing, simple, and delish! My first attempt at any sort of candy and it got RAVE reviews from everyone. Thanks! Hint: Start with your biggest pan to avoid changing pans two times! (I didn't know how much it expanded when it cooked, LOL!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
they never got hard enough and were greasy. The taste was only ok I wont make again, I cooked to 125c
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathymcelhose

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These are easy and delicious. Make sure you use a large enough pan, at least a 3 qt sauce pan, because when the sauce boils, it increases in volume quite a bit. We used both a candy thermometer and the cold water method. I don't think you want to go all the way to the hard ball stage if you want chewy caramels. We used the soft ball stage, which was 252 on our thermometer. We also lined the 8X8 pan with wax paper, letting it hang over the sides of the pan, for easy removal of the candy. A pizza cutter was handy for cutting the candy once we had cut it into strips with a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These are delicious and so easy! I made these back in 2006 or so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Remember if you do not have a candy thermometer, use a glass of cold water to test the candy. If it dissolves it isn't ready. If it forms to soft ball and you can roll it with your fingers...ready. Hard crack is when it immediatly is stiff. Be careful, when you get close to the temp. to remove quickly. I have tried twice and it was hard the first time. Perfect the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clever, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I love this recipe just like my moms caramels!!! I also did not heat it to 250, but I did use margarine instead of butter which also helps it to not stick to the pan or the knife. I did put it in the fride for an hour to firm it up enough to cut... Very good I plan on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These cooked perfectly and the taste was great, but when I put the mixture into the pan, it cooled all gritty and crystallized, how do you prevent this from happening? :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I bought a good new candy thermometer to try this. After reading reviews and doing a little online research I cooked until 246-247 - the suggested temperature for caramels and tested as a firm ball stage in cold water. They hardened much more as they cooled - not the soft caramel I wanted. I ended up with darker brown flecks throughout - maybe the butter burned. A medium sized heavy pot (All Clad) almost boiled over early on. I left the heat at a medium level throughout. They taste okay, more of a hard candy that gets a little soft in your mouth and then sticks to your teeth - not what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
they were so sticky... i guess you should not use wax paper b/c it melts it. the taste was ok....i wont make them again. oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States