Caramel Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
Where's the caramel? The recipe states to add sugar and water in a pan and cook it but doesn't say how much caramel....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This is a great cake IF the directions are followed exactly. First reviewer must not know how caramel syrup is made by "caramelizing" the sugar. Make this wonderful cake and you will enjoy a very special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is a very yummy cake! If you follow the directions as listed, it turns out very good! I made this for my husband and he loves it too! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Kisbey, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
So kind of you to share this old, timeless recipe! I followed to a tee, it came out perfectly & tastes incredible. Yours in the picture looks frosted. I poured the remaining caramel over the cake while still warm - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This cake has become a family and friend favorite. I am rarely able to make the caramel syrup easily, but I always have enough. I also use it to make cupcakes (I get 24 cupcakes per recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Recipe Editor's Note: We have corrected this recipe, and changed the shortening called for in the direction to butter as listed in the ingredients. We are sorry for any confusion the mistake in editing caused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I baked this recipe for my family and they loved it the second time around I did not cook the sugar as long the color was more of a light brownl. But this time not only did I add the caramel to the batter but before it went into the oven I also sprinkled it over the top of the cake it turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love this recipe ,,, made this cake for couple of time .....perfect recipe ....but gets dry very soon .. I think it's the flour it's a bet more. But any way , my all time fav recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
The cake itself was very good. I don't think I made the caramel right because it was more of a liquid than a syrup and it was VERY bitter. I added it to the cake batter and it was very good; but once the cake was baked, I couldn't taste the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I should have let the caramel cool a little bit longer before pouring it on top of the cake -- it likely would have set a little better since it becomes more viscous as it cools. I'm not a big fan of the cake because I *hate* the taste of butter, and it's all over the place with this cake. The cake itself is pretty dense and not that exciting. Definitely not for dieters. (Sorry!) But definitely for butter lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States