Caramel Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
This cake was delicious! However, because of what an earlier reviewer said, I increased the milk to about 3/4 cup and only cooked the cake for 20 minutes. Also, the "icing" never got thick enough to spread, so I poked holes in the cake and poured it on top. I topped it with macadamia nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is a great recipie, however it is not for the novice baker. I wish inexperienced cooks would not lower recipe ratings because of their ineptitude. If you the majority of the ratings are positive, isn't that a pretty good indication that perhaps you did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James A. Butler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This cake turned out great. So far the best cake recipe on this site. To the others who rated this cake and it didn't turn out good, you have to follow the directions to the tee on the icing. Invest in a candy thermometer,if not the icing will not turned out right. The heating and cooling process is a must with candied cooking. Co-workers, family and church members loved it made 4 cakes in one week. Experimented with the icing alot, just with how much I whipped it after it cooled down, you can make it fluffy or more like a candied traditional caramel icing, I prefered the candied, that's more like a traditional caramel icing. It's a sweet cake, but caramel cake is sweet.There's nothing light about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I didn't use this actual recipe but I was reading where some people states that the cake is dry. The secret weapon for a dry cake is pudding from the box. Depending on what flavor (chocolate cake you would use chocolate pudding in the batter and vanilla cake will use vanilla pudding). Someone states that they used mayonnaise, I've never used such a thing. Also, you can substitute butter and use Vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Tammy Pratt-Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ruskin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This cake was delicious! I made it for my Grandma's birthday and everyone really loved it! The only thing I did differently was I used chocolate fudge frosting instead of the caramel frosting, and it turned out magnificent. I also only baked the cake for 20 minuets and it was done. I recommend trying out this recipe. It was a wonderful change from a chocolate, vanilla, or yellow cake. Next time I make it, I might try making a layered round cake. The 9x13 size pan I used made a pretty thin cake and it was hard to get out of the pan without breaking. But I have no complaints at all on the flavor! I will definitely make this again. In fact I already have some requests from the people who tasted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This cake is just like the one my great-grandmother use to make. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This recipe's icing directions produced the best caramel cake my boyfriend and I had ever tasted-- even better than grandma's. I was lazy about the cake part and used a boxed mix to make four thin layers. The icing that this recipe makes is fab, though! You just have to be really patient with it and make sure you cook it to the right temperature and then cool it all the way down or else the icing will be too runny. It took me about an hour and a half for the entire heating to 240 F over medium heat / cooling down to 110 F process, but patience paid off big time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I was lookking for a healthier version of the traditional version. I made this for my daughter's 2nd Birthday and my 5 children, husband and the guests LOVED it! The frosting turned out just like caramel candy. The cake batter was very light, airy, and tasted really good! Not sure what other reviewers did that didn't work but my kids ages 10, 6, 4, 2 & 1 (&husband) ask for this one quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 1xy4xx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this cake as the recipe suggests, it made a 7in round two layer cake. So if you need more cake double the recipe. Other than that great cake! I will try it with cake flour next time instead of AP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Cooked the cake for 20min like many suggested. It turned out wonderful and moist. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States