Caramel Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
this turned out great! i had to add more cream to the icing but other than that, it was a hit. enjoy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
If it were up to me alone, I would give it only 2 stars. I made this for a friends birthday, and although I didn't care for the cake at all, my friends seemed to like it. Even with an extra half cup of milk, the cake was very dry. By the third day, it was hard as a rock and unedible. Thanks for sharing the recipe, but I don't think that I will be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catiebrooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This cake turned out great. So far the best cake recipe on this site. To the others who rated this cake and it didn't turn out good, you have to follow the directions to the tee on the icing. Invest in a candy thermometer,if not the icing will not turned out right. The heating and cooling process is a must with candied cooking. Co-workers, family and church members loved it made 4 cakes in one week. Experimented with the icing alot, just with how much I whipped it after it cooled down, you can make it fluffy or more like a candied traditional caramel icing, I prefered the candied, that's more like a traditional caramel icing. It's a sweet cake, but caramel cake is sweet.There's nothing light about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This recipe's icing directions produced the best caramel cake my boyfriend and I had ever tasted-- even better than grandma's. I was lazy about the cake part and used a boxed mix to make four thin layers. The icing that this recipe makes is fab, though! You just have to be really patient with it and make sure you cook it to the right temperature and then cool it all the way down or else the icing will be too runny. It took me about an hour and a half for the entire heating to 240 F over medium heat / cooling down to 110 F process, but patience paid off big time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarbellesouth
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
It was a hit! I made this cake as a two-layered round cake by upping the servings to 36. The cakes themselves did have to cook for about 30 min and I did add more milk, as suggested in other reviews. The cake was moist but not super light and tasted like caramel...mmmm. The icing made me a bit nervous as I'd never used a candy thermometer before...and I was concerned after reading other reviews that said it was thin. I used an electric mixer and beat it in the pot after it cooled (which took less than a minute after I removed it from the heat). I beat it for about 3 minutes and then let it rest. It thickened considerably but not to the point where I could use it on my cake so I beat it for another three minutes and let it rest for about 2 more and by then it had started to get the hardened looking top - that was my signal. I briefly beat it one more time (like, 10 sec) and then spread it over the bottom layer and then the sides and top. I put in fridge to set, though it hardly needed it. It was a super cake, just what I was hoping for. Be warned: it's ridiculously sweet! Start with small pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbellesouth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This cake is just like the one my great-grandmother use to make. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This cake was delicious! I made it for my Grandma's birthday and everyone really loved it! The only thing I did differently was I used chocolate fudge frosting instead of the caramel frosting, and it turned out magnificent. I also only baked the cake for 20 minuets and it was done. I recommend trying out this recipe. It was a wonderful change from a chocolate, vanilla, or yellow cake. Next time I make it, I might try making a layered round cake. The 9x13 size pan I used made a pretty thin cake and it was hard to get out of the pan without breaking. But I have no complaints at all on the flavor! I will definitely make this again. In fact I already have some requests from the people who tasted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I did not find this recipe to be very delightful at all. I followed the directions to a "T." The cake did not rise and it was dry. The icing never thickened enough to spread on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This cake turned out quite good. I wanted something different- not just a vanilla or chocolate cake. I did only bake it for 20 minutes and it turned out very moist. I also stuck in some chocolate chip. I didn't want to overdo it with the caramel so I used a chocolate frosting recipe from the website. I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
I divided this cake into two round cake pans and next time I would need to double the batch. This cake is not as light and airy as I thought it would be. My frosting was disasterous! I followed the ingrediants and instructions to a tee and my frosting was extremely sugary. I am hoping it was oprerator error, I really wanted this cake to be a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States