Caramel Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I followed the directions for this cake to the letter. Was attempting to make a layer cake like the picture shown. Hardly had enough batter to fill 2 8" pans. Figured if the cake turned out, i would just make another batch. Cake came out of the oven, first one came out of the pan great, second one crumbled into many, many pieces. Tasted the crumbs and it was BLAND. BTW, my pans were greased with Crisco and floured. Very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Townsend Northam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
First of all, the picture of the cake is deceiving because it looks nothing like that, especially if you're supposed to use a 9X13" pan as the recipe suggests! I totally agree with Lorna129 and JamS08, this was the worst cake that I ever made and wondered if this was a hoax recipe. The cake was dry as a bone and rose to the height of a pan of jiffy cornbread and didn't even taste as good as jiffy. I was so disappointed that I cried because I had spent money on all of those ingredients. I should have known something was wrong with this recipe when it didn't call for any white sugar at all because it was blander than bland. I didn't bother making the frosting and still have the heavy whipping cream in the fridge which I hope doesn't go to waste. This recipe was a huge disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe. The frosting especially. I was a bit skeptical about the amount of milk and based on the reviews of some other cooks I started out using 3/4 cup. I whisked for a while and the batter was just to stiff and it was hard to get all the lumps out of the butter. I ended up adding 2 extra table spoons. This is meant to be a dense, heavy cake and I don't think I would have enjoyed it as much on its own. I used it as part of a layer cake with the One bowl chocolate cake III recipe on this site and it was fantastic. I used the caramel frosting as the fill. This frosting is fantastic but I don't think I would have enjoyed it covering an entire cake, personal taste. I used a chocolate frosting recipe from this site to frost the top and sides of the cake. The finished result got excellent reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this cake as the recipe suggests, it made a 7in round two layer cake. So if you need more cake double the recipe. Other than that great cake! I will try it with cake flour next time instead of AP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
When I baked this cake I was worried that the cake might be dry as per other reviews so instead of just milk, i used buttermilk which really gave it good moisture. I had no problems with the caramel frosting. I beat it on my electric mixer for 9 mins until I got the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I didn't use this actual recipe but I was reading where some people states that the cake is dry. The secret weapon for a dry cake is pudding from the box. Depending on what flavor (chocolate cake you would use chocolate pudding in the batter and vanilla cake will use vanilla pudding). Someone states that they used mayonnaise, I've never used such a thing. Also, you can substitute butter and use Vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ruskin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I baked this cake for my sister's birthday. With a few modifications as mentioned in previous reviews, it turned out moist and delicious. To prevent sticking, I greased AND floured the cake pans. I used 1-1/2 recipes or 36 servings and made three 8" layers, baking for 22 minutes. The caramel icing never quite got thick enough, even after cooling in the refrigerator for an hour, so I added some powdered sugar and it turned out perfect. Very delicious and would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I followed the instructions to a T and none of it worked. The cake stuck to the pan and the frosting is more sauce than frosting. It never got thick or creamy. I can't believe anyone actually had success with this recipe. I love baking and have never in my life had trouble like this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This cake was delicious! I helped my 13 year old son make this, it was the first cake he ever made. It was easy and tasted great, nice and moist. We used a smaller, 8 x 11.5 inch cake pan and it fit perfectly. Next time, I will make 1 1/2 recipes so it will make a 9 x 13 cake. We also used a different recipe for the frosting, Easy Caramel Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I was lookking for a healthier version of the traditional version. I made this for my daughter's 2nd Birthday and my 5 children, husband and the guests LOVED it! The frosting turned out just like caramel candy. The cake batter was very light, airy, and tasted really good! Not sure what other reviewers did that didn't work but my kids ages 10, 6, 4, 2 & 1 (&husband) ask for this one quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 1xy4xx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States