Caramel Brownies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Substituted vegetable oil for part of butter when I ran out and substituted German Chocolate for chips when I ran out. I only had half the caramels and it turned out just fine. Its a great recipe, a little rich when I follow it exactly but very forgiving of substitutions. I had to bake an extra ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
These were excellent but too much butter, probably since cake mixes are smaller now. I would just reduce the butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiS711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Ellsworth Afb, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
These brownies are amazing! I never have any left when I take them anywhere. My husband regularly requests them as well. The only suggestion I have is to do step 1 after 2 and 3 (the caramel melting on the stove.) I usually start this step when the brownie bottom has 5 minutes left in the oven. Perfect timing! They even taste wonderful when they are still warm and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Yes, I did try the recipe and it was very good. Sent it to two of my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wolf Point, Montana, USA
Living In: Ephrata, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These were amazing! I just made them for last weekend and am making them again for this weekend. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Mikkimoto

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
These were pretty good. I felt like the "brownie" layers really tasted like chocolate cake, and I was hoping that they would have more of a brownie taste. Everyone liked these. I did less butter and put the chocolate chips on the top because I forgot them under the caramel ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Are these even legal??? These brownies are AMAZING!!! I followed the recipe exactly and they were so delish!! After reading reviews I used a metal pan that I lined with parchment paper - makes clean up a snap! I melted the caramel in the microwave and it only took a couple minutes. I also flattened the remaining batter between some wax paper and put it in the freezer while the first layer baked. If necessary, roll it out with a rolling pin and just peel it off and lay it on top of the caramel. Don't worry if it isn't perfect, it all bakes together. When done baking, I put the pan in the fridge to cool. Here's the best part, once cooled all you have to do is pull the entire batch out of the pan by simply picking up the parchment paper, take your 14" pizza blade and cut perfect size brownies. Cut them small - they are rich - plus then you can have two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Pretty good! I used Duncan Hines Chocolate Fudge cake mix and reduced the butter to 1/2 cup. I couldn't crumble the mixture over the top, so I took little pieces of the dough, flattened them in my hand, and placed them evenly on the caramel layer. If you have arthritis, this is not the recipe for you. My hands got tired unwrapping all the caramels! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I have been making these brownies for over 30 years and they are always a hit. Just a warning, Most new cake mixes are only 16 oz. They are meant to make the same size cakes but the end result is that the cake is more "airy" and doesn't work well in this recipe. Especially the bottom layer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Great, but I think I messed up on somthing. Mine really looked like it had crumbles all over the top after baking, instead of looking like brownies. Ppl called them dessert bars, and I didn't care. Very good wth devils food cake mix. I used melted caramels, although some reviews said to use the caramel syrup, and was glad i did, because its much thicker caramel that way and easy to slice. Warning though; this is very rich, so small sliced brownies work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States