Caramel Brownies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This recipe was excellent! Just what I was looking for and super easy to make. Contrary to what someone else said, there was certainly enough to put in a 9 x 13 pan, all you have to do is press half the mixture into the bottom of the pan!! These were not too surgary or sweet, they were perfect, all you have to do is follow the instructions. I cut them into smaller 2-3 bite size pieces and EVERYONE loved them and asked for the recipe. Don't change a thing! Thanks for sharing, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Of all the caramel brownies recipes, this one is the BEST by far. Refrigerating just to set the brownies is key and the baking times are more accurate. Also, "crumble the batter" as opposed to "spread the batter" in the last step makes much more sense as spreading that kind of batter over melting chips and caramel is impossible! It's an A+ recipe and a family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This recipe, although tasty, was way way way too rich from all the butter. If I make it again I would cut the butter from 1 and 1/2 stick to just one stick... and that might be too much, too. The caramel/chocolate layer was yummy, though, and the dough, although cake-mix,tasted very homemade.... nobody knew otherwise. Also, my preferance is a more cakey brownie and these were very flat and dense... which I know a lot of people like. Even with the caramel/choc layer these were not too sweet, just too buttey. 3 stars because of the over-the-top butter taste.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
These are very good...not my favorite brownie recipe - but very good!! I also am not a fan of cake mix bars but again was pleasantly suprised. I was going to make brownies when I realized I didn't have any eggs...this is a great recipe if you missing an ingredient! I also didn't have caramels, but did have that caramel apple dip on hand. Worked great...I just plopped peices all over the 1st layer, along with the chips and brownie mix. I will say that the brownie mix isn't really crumbly...its more smooth than the recipe states. But if you plop pieces of the brownie mix down too and wait a minute for it to melt slightly - you'll be able to smooth it into a nice 2nd layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
amazing recipe! i used it today for a party with friends and they all LOVED it, were raving about it. i just used a couple variations based on the other reviews - less butter (only used 1/2 cup), fewer caramels (used about 40 instead of the 50 or so that come in the 14 oz bag), and fewer chocolate chips (just sprinkled them over the top as i saw fit). i also made the same recipe, but with yellow cake mix, to make blondies, and my friends also loved those! anyway, thanks so much for posting this, it's a great recipe that i will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
These are very, very rich (I usually don't think that about many deserts)! Here's what I will do differently next time: Use less caramels and omit the chocolate chips. Just a helpfull hint: Keep the melted caramels on low heat, that way when you're ready to spread over bottom layer it pours easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Forestville, California, USA
Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
These brownies tasted wonderful; however, after removing them from the pan, the bottoms were a fairly greasy. I may have done something wrong, but I sprinkled a little cocoa powder on the greasy parts and it sucked it right up. Then, I removed the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
I love this recipe! A whole bag of caramels was a bit too much for me, so I'll cut back somewhat the next time I bake these. Please make sure these brownies have completely cooled and that the caramel is set before you serve them. Otherwise they will be extremely gooey, and for some reason too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicymama29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Delicious and easy to make! I also added pecans with the carmel and chocolate chips to make it more of a "turtle" brownie. Everyone LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
These are great. I looked all over for a caramel brownie recipe that was easy and good & this one fit the bill. Only change I made was to use half semi sweet chocolate chips & half milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States