Caramel Brownies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Sweetly addictive! I am pregnant and this quenched my sweet tooth craving perfectly! I mostly followed the recipe, except cut back to 1 stick of butter as others had suggested. I found the dough to still be a bit dry so ended up adding a bit extra of the evaporated milk, which worked just fine. The dough does look thin, but it bakes up beautifully. For the top layer, I would take a spoonful at a time, flatten out into discs and spread around on top. Initially the whole thing isn't covered, but it expands as it bakes and covered the whole thing. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I have been making these for years -- they are amazing. You can add pecans to make it more like a turtle. For those complaining of excessive butter taste, keep in mind the original recipe calls for a cake mix 18 Oz, but today's boxed mixes are often only 15 Oz. Bags of caramels used to be 14 Oz, now they are only 11 Oz. So cutting back on the butter (and milk) makes sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Delicious and easy to make. Tasted great with dark chocolate cake mix. My son, whom only likes s'more brownies, tried one and ended up eating three more. Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Good flavor but it would not cook completely, too much butter. Butter was "floating on the top", I poured it off and took it out of oven after a total of 30 min.. It was a big gooey mess so disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Oh my!! These are amazing! I did not add very many chocolate chips and only did about half the caramel and they were great. I also sprinkled some kosher salt on top to make them salted caramel brownies. Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Substituted vegetable oil for part of butter when I ran out and substituted German Chocolate for chips when I ran out. I only had half the caramels and it turned out just fine. Its a great recipe, a little rich when I follow it exactly but very forgiving of substitutions. I had to bake an extra ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
These were excellent but too much butter, probably since cake mixes are smaller now. I would just reduce the butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiS711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Ellsworth Afb, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
These brownies are amazing! I never have any left when I take them anywhere. My husband regularly requests them as well. The only suggestion I have is to do step 1 after 2 and 3 (the caramel melting on the stove.) I usually start this step when the brownie bottom has 5 minutes left in the oven. Perfect timing! They even taste wonderful when they are still warm and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Heston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Yes, I did try the recipe and it was very good. Sent it to two of my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wolf Point, Montana, USA
Living In: Ephrata, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These were amazing! I just made them for last weekend and am making them again for this weekend. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Mikkimoto

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States