Caramel Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Hey all. I'm usually very generous with my 5-star ratings. I am NOT a picky person, so most of the high-rated recipes I try are worth 5 stars. This one was NOT! I followed the recipe to a T, and the brownies didn't get done. I baked them for a friend and ended up throwing the mush away. If you're looking for the "best brownie", try the recipe on this site called "Best Brownies" with over 1200 5 star ratings. THOSE are perfect brownies. Even the taste of these undone brownies was too rich for my taste, and you can't often say that for I LOVE rich foods! Sorry, just not my cup of tea I guess.:-) Ally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I have been using this recipe for years. It became the most requested thing make so I had to restrict it to a "Christmas Only" item. The only ingrediant that is different is the vanilla - I don't use it. A couple of things I have found that have help me is to: #1 Melting your butter is the way to go... it allows you to spread 1/2 the cake mix like frosting for the bottom cake layer rather than pressing it into the pan. #2 Melt the caramels (and evaporated milk) in the MICROWAVE (for about 3 minutes on high) Use as much or as little of the caramel as you want. #4 The remaining half of the cake mix… I take a teaspoon and “blob” the mix on top. It allows for the caramel and chocolate chips (and whatever else) to peek through. #5 The last helpful hit to cut the bars into a size of about 2 bits – more than that the richness overwhelms people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I wish I could give this one 6 stars! Yes, it is THAT good! I made these last night for my husband to take to work, but of course I had to sample them first. They are sticky and gooey and "out of this world" delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly; the only thing I did differently was to melt the caramels with the evaporated milk in the microwave instead of on the stovetop. It was quicker & easier. Also, I lined the baking pan with non-stick foil and sprayed it with Pam for easy removal of these sticky little delights! I'm sure I will make these again and again; thanks for a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
If you need a fix for a sweet tooth...you've come to the right recipe. These actually make my teeth hurt...but they are absolutely sinful!! With the 1/2 cup of batter that's left over...we roll portions of it in our hands and then pat it out as flat as possible to try and cover the top. We have a little "river of caramel" flowing around the top after it's baked. We've also given this out as gifts to people who can't stop eating after just one...their that good! Thanks so much Sandee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I've made these brownies twice. The 1st time I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. The 2nd time, I experimented a bit and they turned out amazing! Instead of baking the first half of the mixture alone, I did this- pour the first half in the pan, spread out. Top with the caramel mixture and then the chocolate chips. Bake on the bottom rake of the oven for 8 minutes. Remove from oven. Spread remaining brownie mixture on top. Continue baking as instructed on middle rack of oven. This makes the caramel and choclate layers absolutely incredible! Make sure they are cooled well before cutting! These brownies are now requested by my son's swim team for every meet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi *

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
These are absolutely incredible! They appeared quite underdone when I took them out, but they were perfect when cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Very good recipe!!! As a previous reviewer stated, PLEASE MELT THE BUTTER. I made two batches, one with softened butter the other with melted. The melted butter one spread a lot easier. The topping browned wonderfully in the oven too. I substituted golden vanilla cake mix for blondies. 1 STICK OF BUTTER WAS ENOUGH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I was a little leery about using a German chocolate cake mix as I’m not a big fan of it, but it turned out perfect! I made these for my husband this weekend for Valentine’s Day as his favorite brownies are turtle brownies and I usually make them from a box… this was my first attempt at “from scratch” turtle brownies and they are delicious. Definitely will make again. Oh yeah, and definite begin melting the caramels before you par-bake the brownies… I waited thinking that eight minutes would be enough to melt them, but I was wrong… it took a few minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Made these for my softball team, they raved and requested the recipe. Only changes . . . used devils food mix, Pam w/flour, melted caramels in the microwave, cooked an extra 10 minutes. So easy & turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States