Caramel Banana Cake Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was good. A lot of people really liked this cake. It is way too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I hardly know how to do a recipe EXACTLY how it says, because I always have to adjust according to the ingredients I actually have--and to taste. The changes I made were fairly irrelevant: doubled the banana and did not use the lemon peel (didn't have any). Used about a 1/4 tsp cinnamon instead. For filling, I doubled cream cheese instead of using cr. cheese+cool whip. I got some raves on it and loved it myself, even when I am no keen fan of banana anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Divide, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Not bad but I expected the flavors to...uhhh...Heck I don't know just be better than it was. Stick with a pumpkin roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
The only thing i did differently was put the caramel sauce in the filling, as other reviewers suggested, and it turned out really good. Brought this to a family reunion, and everyone was asking me what it was if i had brought another one, lol. Not hard to do at all and makes for a nice presentation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I love it! It's the best banana cake I've ever had! So fluffy and not too difficult to make. I doubled the banana and it still tasted really good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This cake came together very easily. The flavor combination works so well together and I love it. The brown sugar is perfect in the middle. I didn't have any caramel sauce, so just sprinkled it with powdered sugar. Will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarkandRitaville
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
The only thing I did different on this recipe was to replace the grated lemon peel with 1 tsp banana flavoring and I added the caramel to the filling instead of putting it on top as other reviewers suggested. Now I bake A LOT of cakes. I have never received so many compliments on a cake ever. I put a thin layer of store bought caramel frosting on the outside of the cake and covered it in fondant. We decorated it to look like a roll of Tums for a chili cook-off at work. It was the hit of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarkandRitaville

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I am not sure what went wrong, or where? The batter was lumpy, I just couldn't get the egg whites to incorparate into the banana batter? After unrolling to fill, the cake had shrunk! Now I am not new to baking, but a shrinking cake??!! Anyway, I filled it and it is now sitting in the fridge, time will tell. Also I took the advice of another user and put the caramel into the filling. I couldn't find the ice cream topping so I melted six caramels with 2 TAB. of vanilla creamer, then mixed that with the rest of the filling. It tasted great. The next time I will not whip the egg whites so much and will use a different towel to pre- roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Now I give this a four star because my cake stuck to my parchment paper, that I used instead of towel, dispite the fact that I powdered it with powdered sugar. Perhaps it was my own fault that maybe it wasn't cool enough when unrolled. Idunno. Made another roll cake since the first and literally left it sit this time in 2 cloth napkins with a good amount of P/S for a couple of hours. It unrolled fine. But definitely line your pan when baking, it is much worse when a cake sticks to the pan and you have to pry it out carefully. The taste is great. I added caramel dipping sauce to the filling, @ 1 heaping TBSP and avoided using it as topping. Yum and thanks! Will keep making it until I perfect the roll cake thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Verdes Peninsula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This recipe came out tasting absolutely delicious, but I really didn't understand the rolling the cake in a towel thing. Mine stuck to the towel and became very strangely textured. Maybe I needed more powdered sugar. Next time I will try it with wax paper instead of a towel. I also think that it was PLENTY sweet without the addition of caramel sauce I wish that I hadn't bought a bottle because no one wanted it. I used extra mashed up bananas in the batter because they were so ripe I had to use them up and I am glad I did because it gave the cake a great strong banana flavor. UPDATE: My husband has asked me to make this recipe again about 10 times, before now the only dessert he has asked me to make him more than once is "brownies from the box" I think I have to rate it 5 stars instead of 4 after all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States