Caramel Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was awesome!! I caramelized an onion, then made the sauce in the same dutch oven and simmered for 30-40 minutes. (Made extra sauce and used pumpkin pie spice.) I generously seasoned the chops with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Covered the chops with the sauce and baked at 350 for 30 minutes or so until they were 155 on my instant read thermometer. The onion really made this dish. It really was amazing. Company worthy. I served with wild rice with almonds and fresh mushrooms and steamed broccoli. Who gets such a lovely dinner on a Thursday night?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Terrific, easy, & delicious! My redneck family thought I was crazy putting apples on top of a good pork chop but this recipe proved them wrong. They loved them! I had to double the recipe for the amount of folks I was cooking for. I used fresh, granny smith apples. Great contrast with the sweet, caramel brown sugar. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxxamillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coldspring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Loved the flavors. Not a recipe I'd fix all the time but oh so good in the fall! Only change I'll make next time will be to cut up the apples more and cook them a little longer (my fault, not the recipe). DH even said "bravo" which is a high compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Loved this recipe! :0) The only thing I did different was add applesauce and a splash of soy sauce in the pan on the stove top to help keep the meat moist before placing it in the oven. I also doubled the topping recipe to make more sauce. :0) My whole family adored this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Baer-Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Wonderful! Everyone raved in my big family. I prepared just as directed but substituted walnuts (it's all I had) and added craisins. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Was awesome!! If you're going to bake it, you definitely have to triple the sauce and pour over chops once or twice. Bake at 350 for about 25-30 (chops were about 1/2-3/4 in thick) and was perfect!! thanks for the recipe, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I was a bit worried upon reading the recipe. Only made 1x sauce. Big Mistake. My son and I were fighting over the last bits of sauce and apples. Resorting to cutting the apples in half. I saute`d 1/2 red pepper and 1/2 sweet diced onion. As the onion began to caramelize I added butter till bubbling and then the dry spice mixture stirring the dry mixture into the butter. I added the apples about a minute later. All this on a med to med low heat I grilled the chops. We were both hesitant to try, but soon the food was being consumed at an alarming rate. MORE SAUCE :( !!! Oh well, next time we know about the sauce and I think I will try the oven method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
So so so good! I added a couple extra apples and brined my chops first. Just enough sweet and the carmeled apples were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanei Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
We enjoyed the recipe. I jazzed up the sauce a bit, crushed a clove of garlic in it, added some turmeric, ginger, cumin powder and cayenne pepper to make it a bit HOT, then added a bit of creme fraiche. I did not regret experimenting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I took reviewers advice, tripling the sauce and baking in the oven. I ended up with pork chops that looked blanched in their own sauce. If I tried it again, I would either try the pan route per the original recipe, or searing the chops first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States