Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
A good recipe for caramel apple pie is almost impossible to find. This one exceeded my expectations. After reading reviews of it being too liquidy, I simply omitted the milk. It came out with just enough moisture. I did a lattice top and had no problems with the caramel overflowing, probably because my apples were so thinly sliced, about 1/8 of an inch. They were also layered neatly so the surface remained relatively flat. I added 4 more caramel squares and I think I would probably use more next time, about 30 in all. I really wanted the caramel to shine in this recipe. I think the lattice top pie makes it so much better, because some of the caramel is exposed at the surface and hardens a bit more than if it was covered up by crust. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This pie was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was awesome. My kids and my husband couldn't get enough. It is very sweet, a small slice goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I substituted caramel dip instead of the squares just because it's easier. Great pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is great. I sell more of these than just about any other pie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I made this for my family today and they LOVED it! My son has been asking for an apple pie and I thought I would try this version for a change...so glad I did. I cut the sugar in the filling a bit and added 4 tablespoons flour instead of 3 and the consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This pie is sooooo good. Make it Make t Make it! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suziehhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Delicious! My husband loves sweets, but thought the caramel was a little too much. The 2nd time I made it, I cut the number of caramel pieces by half and he said it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was the first pie I've ever made and it turned out phenomenally! I didn't change a thing and it was absolutely delish! My whole family loved it and the entire pie was gone in 2 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The apples didn't cook enough, and it was way too sweet for our taste - some of my guests said it was the best apple pie they ever had, but I would say it is similar to a chain restaurant dessert - overly sweet and decadent. If you like that sort of thing, then this is a great pie for you. Make sure to put a pan under it when you bake it, even if you think the crust is completely sealed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States