Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made this pie for Thanksgiving this year and it didn't turn out very well. It tasted great, but after taking it out of the oven it pretty much looked like a soupy mess. The caramels also didn't melt even though I halved them all. I followed the directions, but the granny smith apples I used must have been too fresh. If I make this again I will use a different type of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parasite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Delicious! I used granny smith apples and a pie crust recipe from this website. I did not alter the recipe at all. Make sure you peel the apples (it doesn't say so in the recipe). This is a keeper. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was just too sweet for my family's liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Mmmmm, I love this apple pie. I love apple pie in general, but this one is the best one I have had the pleasure of making. I made a few adjustments, I added apple pie spice and I didn't skin the apples, but everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Delicious, Delicious, Delicious!! I normally detest apple pie but after making this - I love apple pie! What I did differently: 1. Instead of using caramel candy I used Smuckers brand fat free caramel topping, I drizzled it between two layers of the apples. 2. I used store brand 'just roll out and bake' pie crusts. 3. I brushed the crust and top of pie with slightly beaten egg. 4. Completely avoided using foil and came out with a nicely golden and crispy dough. Note: I crumbled the 'taffy mixture' between layers of apples I will definitely be making more of these pies during Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sun1182

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hercules, California, USA
Living In: San Pablo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was the first pie I've ever made so I carefully read through most reviews. I did make some changes, I cut the sugar content to 1/3 cup instead of 2/3. I added 4 Tablespoons of flour instead of 3. I bought the caramel in the container instead of the squares. I used 6 cups of apples instead of 5. I also precooked the apples with the sugar to soften before following the rest of the recipe. This pie looked beautiful, but it's very rich!! I am not a sweet tooth by any means, however my husband is and we both agreed that using only granny smith apples is not the way to go, it made the pie a little tart. So maybe mixing up different kinds of apples along with granny smith might be better next time. I don't think it's b/c I cut the sugar, the tartness was tasted as we bit into the apple pieces. Also, I drizzled the caramel over the apples, next time I will make sure the pie is covered with a thin layer of caramel, so we could taste more of it. I used this recipe with another recipe called "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust"...it was awesome!!!! I also used the Struessel Pie Topping someone else posted about, very good! Next time I will try a regular crust top for this pie, only adding different apples and more caramel! I also had to cook it all for 1 hour and 10 minutes. Great recipe and a very rich pie, I just wish I had different apples in it, it would have been PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Outstanding pie. My husband said this is the best apple pie he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Penner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is one of the best apple pies that I have ever tried. I only used 10 caramels and 4 TBSP of flour in the taffy mixture. It had perfect consistency. The only thing that I might change for next time is to decrease the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was AWESOME! I made 3 in one weekend cause I wanted all my friends to try it! I tried it with both regular caramels and also the caramel dip. Both tasted great but the dip was smoother...especially after it was refrigerated. I have made with a crumb topping too and it was also delish!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefanie1981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pewee Valley, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is a great recipe! Best apple pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States