Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
YUMMIE! if i could give this 100 starts i would! it IS really sweet, but omgosh, so yummie! you gotta at least TRY IT! the only thing i did diffrent is i ADDED MORE flour to the APPLE mIX by about double what it calls for b/c everytime i make apple pie it turns out runny, and i wanted a good pie this time round! OH AND I ADDED ABOUT 6 caramels and made a CRIPSPY CrUMB topping instead of the regular pie crust top, AND you HAVE TO have a over flow CATCHER for this! HAVE FUN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I made this for a holiday Halloween party and it was amazing. I have made it several times since then, including Christmas day and will be sure to make it a staple of my holiday season. I added about 1.5cups of apples to the recipe and tossed the apples in pecan meel as well as the lemon juice and sugar mixture. Add nutmeg and you can't go wrong. a great recipe all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Yummy! I omitted making the taffy, reduced the white sugar to 1/3 cup, increased flour to 4 T. and added 1 tsp. vanilla. I also made my own caramel sauce rather than using caramels from the store. Baked with a homemade buttermilk pie crust. This was a huge hit in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is the best pie ever! I read all the other reviews and made some adjustments, I used 7 granny smith apples, reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, increased the flour to 4 tbs, cut the caramels in qtrs, and added some chopped walnuts. It turned out perfect, I had no trouble with it being runny nor was it too sweet. I will make this pie for parties and special dinners from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This Pie has become my Favorite Apple Pie to make. I made it for a pre Christmas get together the other night of 4 women (figured they never eat much so a apple pie would be perfect) Before they were gone the entire pie was gone (and all I got was a tiny sliver to say that I actually know what it tastes like) Everyone loved it and wanted 2nds and a couple even 3rds. I was like WOW. I am always afraid people are just being polite but when they left I knew they loved the pie because they didn't stop talking about it (even called the next day to get the recipe) The only thing I did different this time around was I used the 6 cups of Apples as suggested by other users. I also used the T. Marzetti's Caramel Apple Dip instead of caramels (I am handicapped and anything that makes baking easier I will do so using the Apple Dip for me was easier) I also put a bit of sugar on the top of my pie crust after the milk just for decorative purposes (because a apple pie is not a apple pie unless it looks beautiful....although the first one I made I forgot the sugar that I always put on pies and it came out really golden brown and pretty without it but I personally just prefer the extra flair of sugar on Pie Crusts. Oh and I added a little bit of Cinnamon/sugar my Pie Crust Recipe ....it makes this Pie to die for. I had a recipe years ago that had cinnamon/sugar in the Pie crust...I lost it now but I always just add a bit to my pie crust and it makes all the difference in Apple Pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intent

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this for my son's preschool Thanksgiving feast and no one really liked it. It got a little watery. I used the caramel dip like was suggested maybe I should have used regular caramels. Will try again but not for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Have made this recipe two years in a row now for Thanksgiving and everyone loves it. With the caramels it can be a little too sweet so I usually cut back on the sugar. I usually make the pie the night before, then just put it in the oven right before we sit down for dinner, turn the oven off and let the residual heat warm up the pie. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVNNSTYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluff, Utah, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
For those that don't "taste" the caramel:Do not halve the caramels, plus add more caramel candies. Also add almost a cup of the brown sugar (I used Splenda blended brown sugar), half cup flour snd 3/4 stick of butter. I used Granny Smiths. The tartness of the apple contrasts well with caramel. Finally, if you have Torani Caramel flavoring, drizzle just a little bit on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaffy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Super Good! It's time consuming but worth it. Definitely for sweet tooths only
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia
Home Town: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This turned out okay, I had to use carmel topping because I couldn't find carmels at my grocery store. After baking the pie filling was a little runny but not bad. Probably because of the carmel sauce. It was gone in 2 days so it must have been good, I just wasn't impressed with it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merbear024

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States