Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this for my son's preschool Thanksgiving feast and no one really liked it. It got a little watery. I used the caramel dip like was suggested maybe I should have used regular caramels. Will try again but not for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Have made this recipe two years in a row now for Thanksgiving and everyone loves it. With the caramels it can be a little too sweet so I usually cut back on the sugar. I usually make the pie the night before, then just put it in the oven right before we sit down for dinner, turn the oven off and let the residual heat warm up the pie. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVNNSTYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluff, Utah, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
For those that don't "taste" the caramel:Do not halve the caramels, plus add more caramel candies. Also add almost a cup of the brown sugar (I used Splenda blended brown sugar), half cup flour snd 3/4 stick of butter. I used Granny Smiths. The tartness of the apple contrasts well with caramel. Finally, if you have Torani Caramel flavoring, drizzle just a little bit on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaffy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Super Good! It's time consuming but worth it. Definitely for sweet tooths only
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia
Home Town: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This turned out okay, I had to use carmel topping because I couldn't find carmels at my grocery store. After baking the pie filling was a little runny but not bad. Probably because of the carmel sauce. It was gone in 2 days so it must have been good, I just wasn't impressed with it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSYCHOBLONDIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This dessert went over well so I will probably be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicki
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was a pretty good apple pie. It had less of a caramel flavor than I was expecting, but I used the caramel dip rather than regular caramels, so I don't know if that affected the taste. I also had to bake for about an hour and 10 minutes to get the crust golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This pie was awsome! I followed others' suggestions, and used caramel dip, and added more apples. I also put a crumble topping on the crust top. It was a big hit! I actually won a contest with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Rotterdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I made this in my stoneware deep dish baker and used a boughten crust, and it was so delicious! I only had 14 caramels, but it didn't matter because it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe has become a family favorite. I've been making this for several years and have tweaked the recipe with the following adjustments: I use six cups of Granny Smith apples (usually seven apples) and 1/4 cup of flour. As for the caramels, I highly recommend Abdallah Vanilla Cream Caramels. These caramels are much softer than most caramels and are easy to cut into small pieces. I also sprinkle the top crust with sugar after brushing with milk. Bake the pie in a preheated 425 degree oven for 15 minutes and then lower the temperature to 375 degrees and bake for 10 minutes. Remove the foil and bake another 30-35 minutes until golden brown. As a result of these changes, the pie is not too sweet and not runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States