Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I had been looking for a comparable recipe to the restaurant apple "desserts" offered. So, my expectations were high and boy, I wasn't disappointed! My husband has not stopped talking about this dessert! I made it exactly as directed and it was a huge hit - I'm making another one this week (by popular demand)! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This pie was AWSOME!!! I made it one evening and invited my parents over for some tea and pie, and even my mother who is a Caterer and very picky about her pies LOVED it! we served it with a nice scoop of Vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jesusitadelnorte
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I've been making this pie for years now, and it's always excellent. Tastes just like a caramel apple baked in a pie. As others have suggested, I reduce the white sugar to 1/3 of a cup. Also, to avoid having to peel caramels and cutting them to make them smaller, I just buy caramel topping in a jar and drizzle it generously over both layers of apples. I prefer the all natural mexican cajeta made with goats milk. You can find it at most latin grocers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesusitadelnorte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Wonderful, tasty pie! I might suggest to reduce brown sugar to 1/3 cup as this was a bit sweet for me. However, none of my family had any problems with it. It was delicious and eaten in record time. Nothing left to take home and rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This is always the first pie to be eaten at all my family events. I have been baking it for a couple years now and it is one my most requested list. Everyone loves it from my 4 year old neice to my grandpa! We typically add more caramels, and more taffy, but we are sweet-aholics! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I have made this pie 3 times so far and it has turned out great each time! I quarter the caramels instead of halving them and I use 2 Fuju, 2 Granny Smith and 2 Golden Delicious apples. I have been using the Pillsbury crust, although I plan to try my hand at making a crust the next time I make this pie! It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Great concept for those that like a variation from standard apple pie. definitely need to increase amount of carmel. I doubled and still could have put more in to get a true carmel taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
YUMMIE! if i could give this 100 starts i would! it IS really sweet, but omgosh, so yummie! you gotta at least TRY IT! the only thing i did diffrent is i ADDED MORE flour to the APPLE mIX by about double what it calls for b/c everytime i make apple pie it turns out runny, and i wanted a good pie this time round! OH AND I ADDED ABOUT 6 caramels and made a CRIPSPY CrUMB topping instead of the regular pie crust top, AND you HAVE TO have a over flow CATCHER for this! HAVE FUN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I made this for a holiday Halloween party and it was amazing. I have made it several times since then, including Christmas day and will be sure to make it a staple of my holiday season. I added about 1.5cups of apples to the recipe and tossed the apples in pecan meel as well as the lemon juice and sugar mixture. Add nutmeg and you can't go wrong. a great recipe all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Yummy! I omitted making the taffy, reduced the white sugar to 1/3 cup, increased flour to 4 T. and added 1 tsp. vanilla. I also made my own caramel sauce rather than using caramels from the store. Baked with a homemade buttermilk pie crust. This was a huge hit in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States