Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I gave this recipe 5 stars because 10 wasn't available. We could never eat a plain ol'apple pie again after having this! The only changes I made were 6 tablespoons of flour instead of 3. It was not runny at all. I had made it several times now and 6 is the magic number! I also use 4 large granny smith and 2 large golden delicous apples. I also use 3/4 of a bag of Kraft caramels. This pie is truly decadent and sinful. Also, when baking I suggest (depending on how well your oven works of course) a half hour baking with the foil and almost another half hour without. This way the crust is flaky like it should be top & bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Absolutely delicious!!!! I used the caramel nibs instead. They are little balls of caramel and i layered them. Little layer of apples then nibs then more apples then more nibs. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Very tasty and easy to make (of course even easier for me since I used store-bought pie crust)! It was a little too sweet for my taste, but I knew that would probably be the case going into it (considering the description and ingredients). But my husband loved it and said it wasn't too sweet at all. When I make it again, I think I'll cut the taffy and caramel amounts in half. I also used 6 cups of apples, as previous reviewers mentioned. Already looking forward to my second piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was the first pie I ever tried baking...and it was delicious! I like the caramel "twist" on the recipe. It also kept well (which I didn't expect). Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JitterBug589

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. The caramel is a great addition to the pie. I read a lot of reviews that others were having trouble with the filling being to runny. I took the advice of others and I added an extra tbsp of flour. The pie turned out great,Thank God! Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirkzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
A good recipe for caramel apple pie is almost impossible to find. This one exceeded my expectations. After reading reviews of it being too liquidy, I simply omitted the milk. It came out with just enough moisture. I did a lattice top and had no problems with the caramel overflowing, probably because my apples were so thinly sliced, about 1/8 of an inch. They were also layered neatly so the surface remained relatively flat. I added 4 more caramel squares and I think I would probably use more next time, about 30 in all. I really wanted the caramel to shine in this recipe. I think the lattice top pie makes it so much better, because some of the caramel is exposed at the surface and hardens a bit more than if it was covered up by crust. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This pie was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was awesome. My kids and my husband couldn't get enough. It is very sweet, a small slice goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I substituted caramel dip instead of the squares just because it's easier. Great pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is great. I sell more of these than just about any other pie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States