Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
A good recipe for caramel apple pie is almost impossible to find. This one exceeded my expectations. After reading reviews of it being too liquidy, I simply omitted the milk. It came out with just enough moisture. I did a lattice top and had no problems with the caramel overflowing, probably because my apples were so thinly sliced, about 1/8 of an inch. They were also layered neatly so the surface remained relatively flat. I added 4 more caramel squares and I think I would probably use more next time, about 30 in all. I really wanted the caramel to shine in this recipe. I think the lattice top pie makes it so much better, because some of the caramel is exposed at the surface and hardens a bit more than if it was covered up by crust. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This pie was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was awesome. My kids and my husband couldn't get enough. It is very sweet, a small slice goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I substituted caramel dip instead of the squares just because it's easier. Great pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is great. I sell more of these than just about any other pie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I made this for my family today and they LOVED it! My son has been asking for an apple pie and I thought I would try this version for a change...so glad I did. I cut the sugar in the filling a bit and added 4 tablespoons flour instead of 3 and the consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This pie is sooooo good. Make it Make t Make it! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suziehhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Delicious! My husband loves sweets, but thought the caramel was a little too much. The 2nd time I made it, I cut the number of caramel pieces by half and he said it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was the first pie I've ever made and it turned out phenomenally! I didn't change a thing and it was absolutely delish! My whole family loved it and the entire pie was gone in 2 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The apples didn't cook enough, and it was way too sweet for our taste - some of my guests said it was the best apple pie they ever had, but I would say it is similar to a chain restaurant dessert - overly sweet and decadent. If you like that sort of thing, then this is a great pie for you. Make sure to put a pan under it when you bake it, even if you think the crust is completely sealed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States