Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I gave this recipe 5 stars because 10 wasn't available. We could never eat a plain ol'apple pie again after having this! The only changes I made were 6 tablespoons of flour instead of 3. It was not runny at all. I had made it several times now and 6 is the magic number! I also use 4 large granny smith and 2 large golden delicous apples. I also use 3/4 of a bag of Kraft caramels. This pie is truly decadent and sinful. Also, when baking I suggest (depending on how well your oven works of course) a half hour baking with the foil and almost another half hour without. This way the crust is flaky like it should be top & bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Absolutely delicious!!!! I used the caramel nibs instead. They are little balls of caramel and i layered them. Little layer of apples then nibs then more apples then more nibs. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Very tasty and easy to make (of course even easier for me since I used store-bought pie crust)! It was a little too sweet for my taste, but I knew that would probably be the case going into it (considering the description and ingredients). But my husband loved it and said it wasn't too sweet at all. When I make it again, I think I'll cut the taffy and caramel amounts in half. I also used 6 cups of apples, as previous reviewers mentioned. Already looking forward to my second piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was the first pie I ever tried baking...and it was delicious! I like the caramel "twist" on the recipe. It also kept well (which I didn't expect). Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JitterBug589

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. The caramel is a great addition to the pie. I read a lot of reviews that others were having trouble with the filling being to runny. I took the advice of others and I added an extra tbsp of flour. The pie turned out great,Thank God! Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirkzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
A good recipe for caramel apple pie is almost impossible to find. This one exceeded my expectations. After reading reviews of it being too liquidy, I simply omitted the milk. It came out with just enough moisture. I did a lattice top and had no problems with the caramel overflowing, probably because my apples were so thinly sliced, about 1/8 of an inch. They were also layered neatly so the surface remained relatively flat. I added 4 more caramel squares and I think I would probably use more next time, about 30 in all. I really wanted the caramel to shine in this recipe. I think the lattice top pie makes it so much better, because some of the caramel is exposed at the surface and hardens a bit more than if it was covered up by crust. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This pie was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was awesome. My kids and my husband couldn't get enough. It is very sweet, a small slice goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I substituted caramel dip instead of the squares just because it's easier. Great pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is great. I sell more of these than just about any other pie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States