Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
The bottom crust didn't cook all the way through, even though I cooked it longer than suggested. Next time, I will follow my own tried-and-true recipe that is MUCH BETTER! So much for trying something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I was making this pie for my family because we went apple picking. I do not like apple pie. HOWEVER, this recipes changed my mind. It was so good that I ate almost all of it myself. It was my first apple pie and I will never use another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Delish! I am a fan! The caramels provide some extra yumminess to the traditional apple pie. To save time, I used a Marie Callendar's ready made defrosted pie crust and a streusel topping. The streusel topping I used was: 3/4 c flour, 1/2 t. cinammon, 1/2 c brown sugar, 3/4 c oats (cut in 1/2 c butter till crumbly). I also used 3 granny smith apples & 3 jonathan apples per another reviewer and it was great! My pie needed 1 hour & 10 min. to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made this pie for the first time for Thanksgiving and also gave it to another friend to make as well. Both of the pies were delicious and received RAVE reviews!!! I followed the advice of other reviewers and used 6 tbs of flour and 6 cups of apples. It was not watery at all. I did have to bake it for about 1 hr 15 min to be sure the crust was done. I made a crumb topping and it so AMAZING! I also used THREE different types of apples (fuji, granny smiths, Jonagold) and caramel creams divided into thirds. Great recipe and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Very very good. I prefer my apple pie a little sweeter so the "taffy" and the caramel was excellent. I used a deep dish pie pan and could have used 6 cups of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Easy to make and got rave reviews. Used a food processor to slice the apples. Next time will probably add some all spice to spice it up a little more. Putting the foil under the pie is key or it will get everywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I use granny smith apples, and omit the 2/3 cup white sugar (the taffy is sweet enough). This recipe is fantastic!!!!! It's my go-to apple pie recipe, and I get many requests for it. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
The first time I made this pie was two weeks ago and it was only the 2nd pie I've ever made in my life. I made it exactly as indicated in the recipe. The clear step-by-step instructions were easy to follow and understand. This pie was requested special for an early family Thanksgiving gathering we had yesterday and it's oooey, gooey goodness was enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
My family thought this was too sweet and I had already greatly reduced the sugar...hard to taste the apples. I was also disappointed because I thought it was hard to taste the caramel too. Usually my pies are gone by day 2 and this sat in my frig for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterkookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Two words: FREAKING AWESOME! With some ice cream, this was a delicious dessert! I added a bit more flour as suggested and the consistency was perfect! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States