Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Neither my son, nor my hubby like ANY kind of fruit pies.....but I had a 'hankerin' and wanted a good old fashioned apple pie (all the more for ME, right?!?) So I hopped online and searched by 'review' and this recipe came up. Caramel apple pie....hmmm....interesting and I just HAPPENED to have all the ingredients on hand if I used Smuckers ice cream topping! You people really don't need to hear my rave review because there have been so many before me....but TOUGH! I'm here to tell ya that this is THE best apple pie on EARTH and remember the non-fruit pie lovers? Well, THEY had two generous slices topped with Bryers Vanilla and couldn't believe they not only 'liked it' but 'LOVED IT'! (so much for the 'more for me' thing, I guess!) I will try the crumble topping next time just so I can use the second crust in the Pillsbury box for a SECOND pie!!! Make this pie! Dab some flour onto your face to show how 'hard' you worked on it (it's really very easy!) and serve it warm!! You will be a HERO! I used: Apple-peeler-corer (a MUST have kitchen gadget if you don't already own one!). Pillsbury Ready Pie Crust in the cooler section of the grocery store. Doubled the cinnamon (just because I like lots!). Most of the jar of Smucker's Caramel Topping and I sprinkled top crust with a dash of cinnamon sugar for looks! I'm heading to the farmer's market tomorrow for more apples! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was wonderful- rich and delicious, and not too caramel-y. Following the advice of reviews here, I made a few changes: used only 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of flour in the filling, used 6 cups of Granny Smith apples, and substituted about 1/2 bag of Kraft Caramel Nibs (the little round caramels in the baking aisle) for the regular caramels. Made it with a vodka-based crust from Cooks Illustrated, and it was amazing! This will be my standard apple pie from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Couldn't think of a way to make this any better, except maybe to take out all the calories! Holy cow, this was good. Hubby and I ate 2/3 of the pie the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Simple enough to make - read previous reviews and made my own tweeks. Not something to brag about - but a good, simple caramel apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I've made this pie 3 times now and everyone has raved about it every single time! The only thing I did different from the recipe, like many others did, I increased the 3 tbsp of flour to 6 tbsp and used 6 apples instead of 5. At the rate of requests I'm getting, I will be making this pie MANY more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was the first pie I have ever made. It was a BIG hit on fourth of July. Next time I will make 2, there wasn't enough to go around!! I did quarter the caramels and my total cooking time was about 1 hour and 10 minutes. Super sweet, so be ready for a sugar rush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Jaehnel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I only put half the taffy on the bottom, just right for sweet and sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
So far I have made this twice and it's been wonderful BOTH times. The 1st time I made it I followed the recipe to a T and unfortunately the caramel didn't melt so we ended up having chunks of caramels in our pie. The 2nd time I 1/4 the caramel and cooked the pie for an additional 10 minutes being careful not to burn the crust and still there were chunks. Don't know what i'm doing wrong but I think i'll 1/2 the caramel next time. Wonderful recipe, THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nealy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was good, but not quite what I was expecting. It tasted very similar to our traditional apple pie, even with the caramel. Not sure I would make it again, even though it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashcheekz
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I love love love this recipe. I made a smaller pie without so much apples and stuff in it since it was just me and my man eating thanksgiving alone. It turned out wonderful and didn't have a problem with it overflowing with caramel. I loved it and will make again very very very soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashcheekz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States