Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Delicious, Delicious, Delicious!! I normally detest apple pie but after making this - I love apple pie! What I did differently: 1. Instead of using caramel candy I used Smuckers brand fat free caramel topping, I drizzled it between two layers of the apples. 2. I used store brand 'just roll out and bake' pie crusts. 3. I brushed the crust and top of pie with slightly beaten egg. 4. Completely avoided using foil and came out with a nicely golden and crispy dough. Note: I crumbled the 'taffy mixture' between layers of apples I will definitely be making more of these pies during Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sun1182

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hercules, California, USA
Living In: San Pablo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was the first pie I've ever made so I carefully read through most reviews. I did make some changes, I cut the sugar content to 1/3 cup instead of 2/3. I added 4 Tablespoons of flour instead of 3. I bought the caramel in the container instead of the squares. I used 6 cups of apples instead of 5. I also precooked the apples with the sugar to soften before following the rest of the recipe. This pie looked beautiful, but it's very rich!! I am not a sweet tooth by any means, however my husband is and we both agreed that using only granny smith apples is not the way to go, it made the pie a little tart. So maybe mixing up different kinds of apples along with granny smith might be better next time. I don't think it's b/c I cut the sugar, the tartness was tasted as we bit into the apple pieces. Also, I drizzled the caramel over the apples, next time I will make sure the pie is covered with a thin layer of caramel, so we could taste more of it. I used this recipe with another recipe called "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust"...it was awesome!!!! I also used the Struessel Pie Topping someone else posted about, very good! Next time I will try a regular crust top for this pie, only adding different apples and more caramel! I also had to cook it all for 1 hour and 10 minutes. Great recipe and a very rich pie, I just wish I had different apples in it, it would have been PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Outstanding pie. My husband said this is the best apple pie he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is one of the best apple pies that I have ever tried. I only used 10 caramels and 4 TBSP of flour in the taffy mixture. It had perfect consistency. The only thing that I might change for next time is to decrease the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was AWESOME! I made 3 in one weekend cause I wanted all my friends to try it! I tried it with both regular caramels and also the caramel dip. Both tasted great but the dip was smoother...especially after it was refrigerated. I have made with a crumb topping too and it was also delish!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefanie1981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pewee Valley, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is a great recipe! Best apple pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This pie is amazing! Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosebud, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Great pie!!! Delicious with gala apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Everyone loved this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was one of the pies I made for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. The caramel melted throughout the entire pie, it was amazing. I added the extra tablespoon of flour to the apple filling, which I am really glad I did otherwise it would have been too runny. I made my own crust and sprinkled sugar on the top. I made the pie the night before Thanksgiving and put it in the oven right before we sat down for dinner. The timing was perfect and I didn't have to worry about it interfering with the other cooking. I found it super easy and I plan on making it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States