Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Huge hit for Thanksgiving. Must be warm or you get a big old chunk of hard caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was my first homemade apple pie! It turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I love apple pie and have tried many different recipes over the years. I will never try another. I have found my perfect apple pie! I read the other reviews before making this pie. Although I did increase the apples to 6 cups (because I like a really full pie) and I cut the white sugar back to 1/4 cup (because I don't like overly sweet desserts), I think the main reason people had problems with the pie being mushy or runny was because of the cooking time. I baked mine covered for 20 minutes and then uncovered for almost 40 minutes - until it was golden brown like the picture. The pie filling was set up perfectly and didn't run a bit. Also, the caramels, which I had cut into fourths, were completely melted. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stellarcook368
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This pie was amazing! It was very delicious, and a definite make-again recipe, with only a few changes. I was concerned about the pie being runny, so I added a tablespoon of flour to the 3 tablespoons of flour in the apple mixture. I also added a couple extra apples. It came out perfectly. I poked holes in the crust and pre-baked it 10-12 minutes before I layered the taffy, apple, and caramels. Next time, I would probably use a caramel dip that was pre-made, but only for convenience. The caramel candies worked fine. They melted really well, when I cut them into quarters. Definitely seal the top of the pie well so that the caramels don't seep out. I would definitely recommend this recipe. The caramel flavor is not super strong, but it adds a delicious twist to the typical apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarcook368

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
it works best with liquid caramel or serve it hot. other wise the caramel get to hard to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delicious. The first time I made it I used the caramel squares but I didn't feel like they melted around enough so I used the jar caramel that is for ice cream. I have made it that way ever since. It is a sweet pie but I like sweet and my husband is grateful I found the recipe as he was missing his mom's apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is an outstanding recipe. It really is like eating chopped up caramel apples in a pie. A bit labor-intensive but worth all the trouble in the end. I even make this with my 5th-8th graders in the after-school culinary program where I teach. Delicious with a scoop of ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
It was a big hit ! I used fleur de sel salted caramels so I halved the amount in the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
The rexipe is perfect nd the taste is un describable I like it as Caramel stuff are my favs Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Omer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
My husband said it was the best apple pie he's ever had. I used half of the white sugar it called for, and used a large spoonful of jarred caramel just smeared in between. Not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States