Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Easy to make and got rave reviews. Used a food processor to slice the apples. Next time will probably add some all spice to spice it up a little more. Putting the foil under the pie is key or it will get everywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I use granny smith apples, and omit the 2/3 cup white sugar (the taffy is sweet enough). This recipe is fantastic!!!!! It's my go-to apple pie recipe, and I get many requests for it. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
The first time I made this pie was two weeks ago and it was only the 2nd pie I've ever made in my life. I made it exactly as indicated in the recipe. The clear step-by-step instructions were easy to follow and understand. This pie was requested special for an early family Thanksgiving gathering we had yesterday and it's oooey, gooey goodness was enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
My family thought this was too sweet and I had already greatly reduced the sugar...hard to taste the apples. I was also disappointed because I thought it was hard to taste the caramel too. Usually my pies are gone by day 2 and this sat in my frig for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterkookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Two words: FREAKING AWESOME! With some ice cream, this was a delicious dessert! I added a bit more flour as suggested and the consistency was perfect! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I gave this recipe 5 stars because 10 wasn't available. We could never eat a plain ol'apple pie again after having this! The only changes I made were 6 tablespoons of flour instead of 3. It was not runny at all. I had made it several times now and 6 is the magic number! I also use 4 large granny smith and 2 large golden delicous apples. I also use 3/4 of a bag of Kraft caramels. This pie is truly decadent and sinful. Also, when baking I suggest (depending on how well your oven works of course) a half hour baking with the foil and almost another half hour without. This way the crust is flaky like it should be top & bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Absolutely delicious!!!! I used the caramel nibs instead. They are little balls of caramel and i layered them. Little layer of apples then nibs then more apples then more nibs. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Very tasty and easy to make (of course even easier for me since I used store-bought pie crust)! It was a little too sweet for my taste, but I knew that would probably be the case going into it (considering the description and ingredients). But my husband loved it and said it wasn't too sweet at all. When I make it again, I think I'll cut the taffy and caramel amounts in half. I also used 6 cups of apples, as previous reviewers mentioned. Already looking forward to my second piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was the first pie I ever tried baking...and it was delicious! I like the caramel "twist" on the recipe. It also kept well (which I didn't expect). Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JitterBug589

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. The caramel is a great addition to the pie. I read a lot of reviews that others were having trouble with the filling being to runny. I took the advice of others and I added an extra tbsp of flour. The pie turned out great,Thank God! Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirkzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States