Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this last year for thanksgiving and it was great! Everyone loved it. It was the first pie gone. I did take some other user's advice though, i used a little more flour and its turned out nicely - not runny at all. I recommend this to everyone for a sweet, desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I LOVE this recipe. So great!! I had a few more spices though. Nutmeg, cloves, ginger, etc. just to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Sauvageau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FlyingPen
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
"better than my mom's" Need I say more! As with many other reviewers, I cut the white sugar to 1/3 cup and upped the flour to 5T. I also baked at 425 for first 15 minutes, then 375 for 30 minutes. I used pink ladys which really hold their texture well. I only had a 10.5" pie dish and I think that eliminated the spill issue many others had. It was perfect fit and sweetness. See photo 15.The "French Pastry Pie Crust" was perfectly flaky and baked to a nice golden brown even without an egg/milk wash (which I forgot to do). Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
We loved this, only change was as advised to double flour and 6 cups of apples. The first time I did caramels as directed, but when pie cools then so the caramels and they are hard when you bite into them. The 2nd I actually melted them in microwave and poured half on of apples and other half on last part of apples, much better in our opinion. It does get hard as well, but not in big junks, so much easier to eat... This is a great recipe and we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This recipe was delicious but needed a few adjustments. The caramel didn't really melt into the pie filling, so next time I will either use caramel from the jar or melt caramels and mix into the butter/brown sugar/flour mixture. Also, I omitted the 2/3 cup white sugar and we still thought it was plenty sweet. I added 1 tsp. nutmeg and just mixed all the ingredients together in a bowl and then put in crust. With these adjustments, this pie was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This pie is absolutely delicious!!! We added 5T flour to the apples as well as nutmeg and cloves. It is so good and so easy to make! We also used a combination of empire, liberty and macintosh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Neither my son, nor my hubby like ANY kind of fruit pies.....but I had a 'hankerin' and wanted a good old fashioned apple pie (all the more for ME, right?!?) So I hopped online and searched by 'review' and this recipe came up. Caramel apple pie....hmmm....interesting and I just HAPPENED to have all the ingredients on hand if I used Smuckers ice cream topping! You people really don't need to hear my rave review because there have been so many before me....but TOUGH! I'm here to tell ya that this is THE best apple pie on EARTH and remember the non-fruit pie lovers? Well, THEY had two generous slices topped with Bryers Vanilla and couldn't believe they not only 'liked it' but 'LOVED IT'! (so much for the 'more for me' thing, I guess!) I will try the crumble topping next time just so I can use the second crust in the Pillsbury box for a SECOND pie!!! Make this pie! Dab some flour onto your face to show how 'hard' you worked on it (it's really very easy!) and serve it warm!! You will be a HERO! I used: Apple-peeler-corer (a MUST have kitchen gadget if you don't already own one!). Pillsbury Ready Pie Crust in the cooler section of the grocery store. Doubled the cinnamon (just because I like lots!). Most of the jar of Smucker's Caramel Topping and I sprinkled top crust with a dash of cinnamon sugar for looks! I'm heading to the farmer's market tomorrow for more apples! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was wonderful- rich and delicious, and not too caramel-y. Following the advice of reviews here, I made a few changes: used only 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of flour in the filling, used 6 cups of Granny Smith apples, and substituted about 1/2 bag of Kraft Caramel Nibs (the little round caramels in the baking aisle) for the regular caramels. Made it with a vodka-based crust from Cooks Illustrated, and it was amazing! This will be my standard apple pie from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Couldn't think of a way to make this any better, except maybe to take out all the calories! Holy cow, this was good. Hubby and I ate 2/3 of the pie the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Simple enough to make - read previous reviews and made my own tweeks. Not something to brag about - but a good, simple caramel apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States