Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This pie is amazing! Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosebud, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Great pie!!! Delicious with gala apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Everyone loved this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was one of the pies I made for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. The caramel melted throughout the entire pie, it was amazing. I added the extra tablespoon of flour to the apple filling, which I am really glad I did otherwise it would have been too runny. I made my own crust and sprinkled sugar on the top. I made the pie the night before Thanksgiving and put it in the oven right before we sat down for dinner. The timing was perfect and I didn't have to worry about it interfering with the other cooking. I found it super easy and I plan on making it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I have made this every year for Thanksgiving and it has always been a huge hit! I used caramel apple dip instead of caramel candies this year, and it was INCREDIBLE. I definitely recommend increasing the flour. Best recipe ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is one of those recipes that I’ve made several times over the years, but just haven’t gotten around to reviewing yet. This pie always gets rave reviews, but I’ve never been quite satisfied with it because 1) The filling is too soupy and 2) the bottom crust is soggy. My sister-in-law requested I make this pie again for the holidays this year, but I was determined to improve an already yummy pie. After doing some research, I decided to precook the apples, that way I could have control over the amount of liquid in the pie. I gently cooked the apples and sugar on low heat, just until the apples started to soften. I then drained the juice (reserving it) and then added the flour, cinnamon and lemon juice. I then added just enough of the juice back into the mixture to moisten it. I got a little over ½ cup juice from the apples and added about half of it back. Then I just followed the recipe as written. The only other change I made was to put the baking sheet on the oven rack below the pie, not directly under it. This directs the heat to the bottom of the pie, baking it thoroughly, instead of insulating it from the heat. I could actually slice it into pieces, the filling wasn’t soupy and running all over, and the bottom crust was not soggy. I think it’s one of my proudest baking achievements yet! (I’ve written a blog about this pie, which you can find a link to in my profile information.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was great, I left out the caramels and cut down the sugar, also used a bit more flour but it wasn't necessary, next time will stick to recipe's flour quantity. I used a cornmeal crust that went really well with the sweetness of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
An extra tablespoon of flour in both the taffy and filling mixes greatly helped to cut down on the runny-ness in the pie. I would also recommend cooking at 400 degrees to fully melt the caramels. That said, this is a near perfect pie in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
We made 8 of these pies with a streussel topping for Thanksgiving gifts for our friends/family..made exactly how recipe called..let them cool over night and wrapped in the morning. Didn't cut into our pie until dinner the next day, and found it to be very runny/slimy (more like a cobbler) we scooped the "pie" into bowls and topped w/vanilla ice cream, and it was FANTASTIC! everyone loved them! I am making another few tonight and an going to experiment a little trying to make them less runny. Am thinking about increasing the flour and decreasing the caramels-based on other's reviews...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany.cpeterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This pie was amazing! I used half granny smith apples and half fuji apples. I also used caramel apple dip instead of the caramels and it was easy and sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States