Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was the first pie I've ever made and it turned out phenomenally! I didn't change a thing and it was absolutely delish! My whole family loved it and the entire pie was gone in 2 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The apples didn't cook enough, and it was way too sweet for our taste - some of my guests said it was the best apple pie they ever had, but I would say it is similar to a chain restaurant dessert - overly sweet and decadent. If you like that sort of thing, then this is a great pie for you. Make sure to put a pan under it when you bake it, even if you think the crust is completely sealed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QTPIE7604
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This pie was gone in a blink this Thanksgiving. I used caramel dip from the fruit section at the market instead of the caramels, and it came out so wonderful. Perfect consistency, and tasted so good! I will make it again for Christmas, and as often as pie is called for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTPIE7604

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Soto, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
The hardest part is cutting up the apples! HELPFUL TIP: Skip the caramel meltdown as suggested in the recipe and buy the bottled caramel sundae sauce (such as Smucker's). Much easier and honestly the same outcome. Makes for fewer ingredients, too. The recipe does not mention it, but always peel the apples before cutting. Sounds obvious to an experienced baker, but it's not and should be mentioned. I found Fuji apples turnout best and I have baked 6 of these since I first made three months ago (because the entire extended family is demanding them at each gathering). Frozen pie shells are easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was the first pie I ever made and it couldn't have turned out better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This has become my signature pie. Everyone remembers it, and asks for it. Have to race to the dessert table to make sure I get a piece before it's gone. Must have ala mode~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was GREAT! The only downside would be that it is VERY rich-- I like sweets. Definately a crowd pleaser- will make again. Used a little less sugar as recommended and a little more lemon juice, and did bake it a good 15 minutes longer to get the crust golden. I did not find it to be runny at all- just good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Every Year I am not allowed to come to Thanksgiving without this pie. It comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
WOW!! I drizzled caramel from a jar as a substitute for the caramel pieces. What a fantastic pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States