Caramel Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was my first homemade apple pie! It turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I love apple pie and have tried many different recipes over the years. I will never try another. I have found my perfect apple pie! I read the other reviews before making this pie. Although I did increase the apples to 6 cups (because I like a really full pie) and I cut the white sugar back to 1/4 cup (because I don't like overly sweet desserts), I think the main reason people had problems with the pie being mushy or runny was because of the cooking time. I baked mine covered for 20 minutes and then uncovered for almost 40 minutes - until it was golden brown like the picture. The pie filling was set up perfectly and didn't run a bit. Also, the caramels, which I had cut into fourths, were completely melted. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stellarcook368
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This pie was amazing! It was very delicious, and a definite make-again recipe, with only a few changes. I was concerned about the pie being runny, so I added a tablespoon of flour to the 3 tablespoons of flour in the apple mixture. I also added a couple extra apples. It came out perfectly. I poked holes in the crust and pre-baked it 10-12 minutes before I layered the taffy, apple, and caramels. Next time, I would probably use a caramel dip that was pre-made, but only for convenience. The caramel candies worked fine. They melted really well, when I cut them into quarters. Definitely seal the top of the pie well so that the caramels don't seep out. I would definitely recommend this recipe. The caramel flavor is not super strong, but it adds a delicious twist to the typical apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarcook368

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
it works best with liquid caramel or serve it hot. other wise the caramel get to hard to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delicious. The first time I made it I used the caramel squares but I didn't feel like they melted around enough so I used the jar caramel that is for ice cream. I have made it that way ever since. It is a sweet pie but I like sweet and my husband is grateful I found the recipe as he was missing his mom's apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is an outstanding recipe. It really is like eating chopped up caramel apples in a pie. A bit labor-intensive but worth all the trouble in the end. I even make this with my 5th-8th graders in the after-school culinary program where I teach. Delicious with a scoop of ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
It was a big hit ! I used fleur de sel salted caramels so I halved the amount in the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
The rexipe is perfect nd the taste is un describable I like it as Caramel stuff are my favs Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Omer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
My husband said it was the best apple pie he's ever had. I used half of the white sugar it called for, and used a large spoonful of jarred caramel just smeared in between. Not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This turned out perfectly! After reading reviews about the pie turning out runny, I added an extra Tablespoon of flour. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States