Caramel Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
I use Carmel Apple Dip instead of the Ice Cream Carmel. Works great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
The pie is very good, but next time I would add more pecans, and caramel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I doubled this recipe for a 10 in. tin. One of the best pie's we have had so guess you know we will have it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
a big hit! ut a little runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
One of the BEST pies i've ever eaten!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
My husband made this for Thanksgiving at my parents house 2 years ago. Now they won't let him bring anything else!!! I was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This is the BEST apple pie! My family loved it & it will definately be a family-favorite from here on out! I did alter it a bit. I added an extra 1/4 cup of carmel topping & an extra 1/4 cup of pecans. In addition, I melted my own carmel from classic carmel candies. I also covered the edges of the pie crust with foil after the first 15 minutes in the oven to avoid burned crust edges. It was PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
The pie itself was very good but really runny. I used Granny Smith apples and I think they were too moist. Plus I will use corn starch next time instead of flour. I also scaled down the sugar amounts and used fat free caramel topping. I will try it again but might alter it a bit again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Tastes really good, but very watery and messy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
After reading the above reviews, I made this recipe with a few changes. Instead of the sugar I just used an entire 16 oz jar of Smucker's Caramel topping and a 4 oz bag of chopped pecans instead of 1/4 cup. Instead of the 3 tablespoons of corn starch I used about 8. The pie was STILL runny when cut still warm, however, when it cooled to room temperature it was perfect. The family loved the pie. I didn't use really tart apples, but the pie would have been too sweet if I had put ANY of the sugar and I like things really sweet~ **Just in case you want your pie warm, you can just dip a little of the sauce that runs out of the pie out and ladel it over the warm pie before adding a scoop of ice cream or whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States