Caramel Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I've made this pie twice. The first time it was really runny but I learned a lesson. Instead of pouring the apple mix into the pie crust, spoon it in. The second time I made it, it was perfect. My whole family ate it up in one night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Saratoga, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This pie was awesome!! The whole family loved it at Thanksgiving. It only took about 10 minutes to put all together and stick it in the oven. So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwalal1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was the first apple pie I have ever made and it was so easy! People couldn't believe that I made it myself. I used Marzetti's caramel apple dip and cashews. I will be making this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I JUST made this pie tonight as a test for Thanksgiving and for a bake sale at my church. My mother loves the test pie I made. However, a few modifications were made after reading the reviews....I used the recepie for apple pie off of the pillsbury pie crust box which includes salt. The salt helps with the too sweet taste that some reviewers complained about. I also found that spooning the apples into the pie crust as opposed to pouring the mixture in helps cut down on the runniness of the pie. Spooning the mixture into the crust allows you to control the amount of juice that goes in. I left some juice in the bowl (approx 2 tblsp) and the consistency was perfect. We cut the test pie while it was still smoking and it wasn't runny at all. I also added walnuts after putting the carmel over the apples and mixed about 2 tblsp of caramel in my apple mixture before spooning it in the crust (I used hot caramel topping by smuckers). I also only used 1/2 of a 12oz jar of caramel per pie. After baking, I brused the crust with butter and sprinkled a little bit of sugar on top and then drizzled caramel over the top crust. Now I just have to perfect my skills regarding sealing the crust together!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Delicious!!! I used a bunch of different kinds of apples (because I was making applesauce and apple butter). I used an extra tablespoon of cornstarch and didn't measure the carmel or nuts, just sprinkled. I also used store bought crust (a little salty). It was so good. My family gobbled it up. It was a little juicy, but delicious juice!!! I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This was a huge hit last Thanksgiving when I made it. I followed the instructions of a friend and used Granny Smith apples, but I would just use red ones next time because the cook time needs to be increased dramatically if you use them. My only complaint is that I hate when recipes state an amount of cups (for the apples) without an estimated amount of apples that are required. As an inexperienced baker, I didn't know how many to buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Very tasty. Used walnuts instead of pecans and half Golden Delicious, half Granny Smith. Next time I'll do a different crust -- I used Pillsbury refrigerated crusts and they just weren't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Very good. I am always looking for new apple recipes. I love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was my first attempt at an apple pie, and it was pretty good. I also didn't check ahead, and assumed granny smiths were the apple of choice. I ended up with a runny pie that tasted fabulous. I made my own caramel sauce from a recipe on the back of a corn syrup bottle - delish! Everyone at Thanksgiving enjoyed the pie. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This pie was 'ok'... I actualy made it for tomorrow's feast but the presentation was not what I had hoped so I snuck a piece. First of all, the caramel leaked out of the pie plate and onto the top and bottom of the pie, not enough to make a huge mess, but enough to ruin the presentation for me. Second, tastewise, it was very, very sweet. I had to grab a glass of milk to finish my slice. This was my 'new' recipe to try this year for Thanksgiving, thanks for letting me try. I probably will not make it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States