Caramel Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
The best apple pie I ever made!!! I used granny smith apples. Not too sweet and a little tart. I used brown sugar insted of white. A little ginger and YUM!!! Thank you=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Left out the nuts, did everything else as stated in the recipe. Super sweet, but pretty good with ice cream on top. Yummy! Looked, smelled, and tasted great. Had to make more the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Great pie, I increased the cornstarch to 4T and used 1/4 white sugar and 3T of brown sugar and about 3/4 cup caramel ice cream topping. Because the husband doesn't like nuts, those got left out. Wonderful warm with a cold glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Very good recipe. I increased the apples by a cup, increased the cornstarch to 4 tbs. and increased the caramel to 3/4 cup. This made the consistency perfect. Also, I left out the pecans. This pie would be great with a crumb topping (with a little more caramel drizzled on top - Perkins style), but since I didn't have the foresight to get the ingredients, I topped it with crust, put on an egg wash and then sprinkled the top with raw sugar. Very good results. My family is already begging me for another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
It was good, however a little plain. I listened to the recipe and it was just a little dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I used a pre-set frozen pie shell, which was not a deep dish, and flopped another pre-set pie shell on top once it had thawed out. Since the bottom shell was only for regular sized pie dishes, I cut down the amount of apple slices needed. I did make the pie slightly heaping with apples and put a slightly reduced amount of caramel topping over the top. Even wit the size modifications this pied turned out wonderfully. This may have even been the reason why I did not have the issues with "wateriness" as some other reviewers experienced. Who knows... but now I am a little reluctant to try it deep dish style. It was very yummy and my husband keeps insisting that I need to make another one.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortcake3210

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Amazing pie. I used a little of everyones suggestions, and would only try one different thing next time. Here's what I did: Used a variety of apples, including Pink Lady, Honeycrisp, McIntosh and Cortland. The combination of sweetness/tart and crisp/softer was excellent. I then made Grandma's Secret Pie Crust from this site, and sprinkled the brown sugar/cinnamon on bottom, followed by the ground oatmeal. (A suggestion to keep the bottom crust from getting soggy). I then spread caramel apple dip over that, and filled with the apple mixture - spooning in so I didnt have too much juice... made a lattice crust and baked. The pie was gone that day. I had worried about the caramel oozing out of the lattice, but that didnt happen at all (so the lattice was gorgeous) but the caramel didnt melt into the apples at all, rather stayed at the bottom completely. Next time, I think I will either spoon a little of the juice in, or put the caramel on top, and not worry about the lattice. Either way, it was much better microwaved at the end of the day, to warm up the caramel. Delicious pie. Thanks so much for the recipe, and reviewer advice! Thanksgiving tradition from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydawnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is a great pie! It will be hard to make another type of apple pie after making this one. I made this for a pie contest and won second place with it. I have made this pie 4 times now. After making the first two, I modified the recipe slightly to help. I used 7 c. Honey Crisp apples and added an extra Tbsp of cornstarch (it was a little runny the first two times I made it). Make sure to brush on an egg wash on the top of the pie and it will get a wonderful maghogany color. I sprinkle with a large grain decorating sugar before baking too. Cover the tops with aluminum after about 15-20 minutes and then uncover for the last 15 minutes of baking. The last two were sold by the slice at a Craft Bazaar and people loved it and wanted the recipe. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
The pie turned out wonderfully! Here are the modifications I made: I squeezed half a lime over the peeled apples to keep them from browning. As suggested by another member, I used caramel dip instead of caramel topping and spread it on the bottom of the pie crust. I used 2/3 cup sugar instead of ¾ cup. I used ¾ t. all-spice instead of cinnamon. I used walnuts instead of pecans. I added ½ t. cardamom powder. About half way through baking, I put foil over the top because it was rapidly browning. Fifteen minutes before it was done, I removed foil and just placed it on the crust. A delicious pie that I'll definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I have made this pie at least 6 times now. I made it to a tee. Of course when baking it I have to have something underneath it or else the caramel oozes out every where. My solution to this problem is just putting caramel on the bottom of the pie instead of the top. This is my families favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States