Caramel Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This is the BEST apple pie! My family loved it & it will definately be a family-favorite from here on out! I did alter it a bit. I added an extra 1/4 cup of carmel topping & an extra 1/4 cup of pecans. In addition, I melted my own carmel from classic carmel candies. I also covered the edges of the pie crust with foil after the first 15 minutes in the oven to avoid burned crust edges. It was PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This is one of the most delicious apple pies I've ever made! I used gala apples! I had to leave out the pecans (my mom has dentures....), but it was still GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I used golden delicious apples so we cut back on the sugar. I also used flour instead of the cornstarch and added some nutmeg. Everyone loved eat. Just like eating a caramel apple but a whole lot easier. Next time we want to make sure we have some ice cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
One of the BEST pies i've ever eaten!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I've been playing around with creating my own caramel apple pie recipe for a few years and this is the one I started with. Originally mine were also to runny inside. I used some tips from another website about pies and did the following: Subsitute the constarch for 2 Tbsp Tapioca (ground) - the tips said to use Tapioca flour or granulated tapioca but we live in a small town and can't find either, so I bought the tapioca in a box and ground it to near flour in my food processor. The tip didn't say how much to add but the Tapioca box said to use 2Tbs for a fruit pie. Also, I sprinkled the bottom crust with cinnamon sugar (this is supposed to make the bottom crust crispier) and also sprinkled the bottom crust with 2Tbs ground oats to help absorb any excess moisture. I used 5-6 granny smith apples with this method and it's not too runny at all. Very nice actually. Now, my problem is that I tried using the individually wrapped caramels (to help eliminated having so much liquid in the pie). Do Not use individually wrapped caramels... the are way to chewing and don't spread out or melt like I had hoped they would. Also, I used a crumb topping made from flour, butter, brown sugar and pecans which goes very good with this pie. On my next effort I'm going to try "Grandma's Secret Pie Crust" recipe from this site and either make homemade caramel or try to find a thicker version in the jar. Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
I use Carmel Apple Dip instead of the Ice Cream Carmel. Works great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I made this pie for the first time last September for some friends and I continued to get requests for it the entire fall season. Easy to make & Absolutely Delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
a big hit! ut a little runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
My husband made this for Thanksgiving at my parents house 2 years ago. Now they won't let him bring anything else!!! I was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I was asked to take a dessert to a potluck dinner at a friend's house. This sounded so good, so I decided to make this pie with a lattice top crust. It was still warm as we cut it after dinner with ice cream. MMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!! The pie did not last long at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States