Caramel Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I made some modifications to this pie, and it turned out great. Instead of a double crust, I made a crumb topping out of cinnamon, brown sugar, flour and chopped pecans; I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup of white and about 2 or 3 tablespoons of brown, and I added half a jar of Smucker's ice cream topping caramel. The pie was perfect at 45 minutes in the oven, and it tasted SO GOOD. Half of it's gone already and it's still hot...will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I've been playing around with creating my own caramel apple pie recipe for a few years and this is the one I started with. Originally mine were also to runny inside. I used some tips from another website about pies and did the following: Subsitute the constarch for 2 Tbsp Tapioca (ground) - the tips said to use Tapioca flour or granulated tapioca but we live in a small town and can't find either, so I bought the tapioca in a box and ground it to near flour in my food processor. The tip didn't say how much to add but the Tapioca box said to use 2Tbs for a fruit pie. Also, I sprinkled the bottom crust with cinnamon sugar (this is supposed to make the bottom crust crispier) and also sprinkled the bottom crust with 2Tbs ground oats to help absorb any excess moisture. I used 5-6 granny smith apples with this method and it's not too runny at all. Very nice actually. Now, my problem is that I tried using the individually wrapped caramels (to help eliminated having so much liquid in the pie). Do Not use individually wrapped caramels... the are way to chewing and don't spread out or melt like I had hoped they would. Also, I used a crumb topping made from flour, butter, brown sugar and pecans which goes very good with this pie. On my next effort I'm going to try "Grandma's Secret Pie Crust" recipe from this site and either make homemade caramel or try to find a thicker version in the jar. Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
I use Carmel Apple Dip instead of the Ice Cream Carmel. Works great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I have made this pie at least 6 times now. I made it to a tee. Of course when baking it I have to have something underneath it or else the caramel oozes out every where. My solution to this problem is just putting caramel on the bottom of the pie instead of the top. This is my families favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
This is the BEST apple pie! My family loved it & it will definately be a family-favorite from here on out! I did alter it a bit. I added an extra 1/4 cup of carmel topping & an extra 1/4 cup of pecans. In addition, I melted my own carmel from classic carmel candies. I also covered the edges of the pie crust with foil after the first 15 minutes in the oven to avoid burned crust edges. It was PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is a great pie! It will be hard to make another type of apple pie after making this one. I made this for a pie contest and won second place with it. I have made this pie 4 times now. After making the first two, I modified the recipe slightly to help. I used 7 c. Honey Crisp apples and added an extra Tbsp of cornstarch (it was a little runny the first two times I made it). Make sure to brush on an egg wash on the top of the pie and it will get a wonderful maghogany color. I sprinkle with a large grain decorating sugar before baking too. Cover the tops with aluminum after about 15-20 minutes and then uncover for the last 15 minutes of baking. The last two were sold by the slice at a Craft Bazaar and people loved it and wanted the recipe. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
After reading the above reviews, I made this recipe with a few changes. Instead of the sugar I just used an entire 16 oz jar of Smucker's Caramel topping and a 4 oz bag of chopped pecans instead of 1/4 cup. Instead of the 3 tablespoons of corn starch I used about 8. The pie was STILL runny when cut still warm, however, when it cooled to room temperature it was perfect. The family loved the pie. I didn't use really tart apples, but the pie would have been too sweet if I had put ANY of the sugar and I like things really sweet~ **Just in case you want your pie warm, you can just dip a little of the sauce that runs out of the pie out and ladel it over the warm pie before adding a scoop of ice cream or whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
The pie itself was very good but really runny. I used Granny Smith apples and I think they were too moist. Plus I will use corn starch next time instead of flour. I also scaled down the sugar amounts and used fat free caramel topping. I will try it again but might alter it a bit again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This would have been a good recipe if I had known which apples to use. When cut open, the pie was filled with water which I later found out was caused by the type of apples I used. I may try this again with different apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I JUST made this pie tonight as a test for Thanksgiving and for a bake sale at my church. My mother loves the test pie I made. However, a few modifications were made after reading the reviews....I used the recepie for apple pie off of the pillsbury pie crust box which includes salt. The salt helps with the too sweet taste that some reviewers complained about. I also found that spooning the apples into the pie crust as opposed to pouring the mixture in helps cut down on the runniness of the pie. Spooning the mixture into the crust allows you to control the amount of juice that goes in. I left some juice in the bowl (approx 2 tblsp) and the consistency was perfect. We cut the test pie while it was still smoking and it wasn't runny at all. I also added walnuts after putting the carmel over the apples and mixed about 2 tblsp of caramel in my apple mixture before spooning it in the crust (I used hot caramel topping by smuckers). I also only used 1/2 of a 12oz jar of caramel per pie. After baking, I brused the crust with butter and sprinkled a little bit of sugar on top and then drizzled caramel over the top crust. Now I just have to perfect my skills regarding sealing the crust together!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States