Caramel Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I made some modifications to this pie, and it turned out great. Instead of a double crust, I made a crumb topping out of cinnamon, brown sugar, flour and chopped pecans; I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup of white and about 2 or 3 tablespoons of brown, and I added half a jar of Smucker's ice cream topping caramel. The pie was perfect at 45 minutes in the oven, and it tasted SO GOOD. Half of it's gone already and it's still hot...will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I used golden delicious apples so we cut back on the sugar. I also used flour instead of the cornstarch and added some nutmeg. Everyone loved eat. Just like eating a caramel apple but a whole lot easier. Next time we want to make sure we have some ice cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I've been playing around with creating my own caramel apple pie recipe for a few years and this is the one I started with. Originally mine were also to runny inside. I used some tips from another website about pies and did the following: Subsitute the constarch for 2 Tbsp Tapioca (ground) - the tips said to use Tapioca flour or granulated tapioca but we live in a small town and can't find either, so I bought the tapioca in a box and ground it to near flour in my food processor. The tip didn't say how much to add but the Tapioca box said to use 2Tbs for a fruit pie. Also, I sprinkled the bottom crust with cinnamon sugar (this is supposed to make the bottom crust crispier) and also sprinkled the bottom crust with 2Tbs ground oats to help absorb any excess moisture. I used 5-6 granny smith apples with this method and it's not too runny at all. Very nice actually. Now, my problem is that I tried using the individually wrapped caramels (to help eliminated having so much liquid in the pie). Do Not use individually wrapped caramels... the are way to chewing and don't spread out or melt like I had hoped they would. Also, I used a crumb topping made from flour, butter, brown sugar and pecans which goes very good with this pie. On my next effort I'm going to try "Grandma's Secret Pie Crust" recipe from this site and either make homemade caramel or try to find a thicker version in the jar. Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This would have been a good recipe if I had known which apples to use. When cut open, the pie was filled with water which I later found out was caused by the type of apples I used. I may try this again with different apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This is one of the most delicious apple pies I've ever made! I used gala apples! I had to leave out the pecans (my mom has dentures....), but it was still GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I made this pie for the first time last September for some friends and I continued to get requests for it the entire fall season. Easy to make & Absolutely Delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I was asked to take a dessert to a potluck dinner at a friend's house. This sounded so good, so I decided to make this pie with a lattice top crust. It was still warm as we cut it after dinner with ice cream. MMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!! The pie did not last long at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
After reading the above reviews, I made this recipe with a few changes. Instead of the sugar I just used an entire 16 oz jar of Smucker's Caramel topping and a 4 oz bag of chopped pecans instead of 1/4 cup. Instead of the 3 tablespoons of corn starch I used about 8. The pie was STILL runny when cut still warm, however, when it cooled to room temperature it was perfect. The family loved the pie. I didn't use really tart apples, but the pie would have been too sweet if I had put ANY of the sugar and I like things really sweet~ **Just in case you want your pie warm, you can just dip a little of the sauce that runs out of the pie out and ladel it over the warm pie before adding a scoop of ice cream or whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Tastes really good, but very watery and messy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States