Caramel Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Fabulous! Wonderfully sweet and tasty. The filling has a great texture. I think the corn starch works much better than flour as a thickening agent. I subbed 1/4 c of the white sugar for brown sugar and used homemade caramel instead of ice cream topping. I used my grandmother's recipe for pie crust. This pie was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This pie was delicious! I liked the idea of using caramel instead of butter or margarine for the sauce. It gives it a sweeter taste instead of a butter taste. My husband said this was the best apple pie that he ever had. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This apple pie is delicious. I substituted the corn starch with flour and used Crisco shortening double pie crust recipe and it came out delicious. Thank you for such a wonderful apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G. White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Super easy and everyone LOVED it! Will be my go to apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookToEat
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Nice pie, was fun to make and tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookToEat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I won 1st place at the apple pie bake-off using this recipe, with just a few minor alterations. I followed the advice to increase the cornstarch. I also increased the cinnamon to 1tsp, and used cajeta, which is a mexican caramel and a little richer tasting. Otherwise, I followed the directions and it came out fantastic. Everyone raved and I beat out the other pies by over 100 points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
It was OK, seemed kind of bland though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I made this for the people I work with and Wow What a hit it was I became a prize winning baker instantly. I look forward to this fall when the apples come fresh from the trees and I will be making this to freeze for winter Thankyou for posting this Fun ,yummy Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.M.B.D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loves to bake
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! I used a butterscotch caramel topping b/c it was all I could find, and it turned out great! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves to bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
The only reason I didn't give this one a 5 is because it turned out a little on the soupy side. The overall taste was amazing. I did add a little more cinnamon than called for and about a tsp or so of all spice. We topped it with a scoop of french vanilla ice cream and it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States