Caramel Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
yummmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie0129

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. Then Christmas. Then a few weeks later "just because." This pie is amazing, and addictive, especially when made with a crust from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I tried this as something new for my son on his birthday. He loves apples. It was a huge hit! Friends started asking me for this for their birthdays too! I followed the recipe except I used more caramel topping. My choice of apples were Golden Delicious and Fuji. It came out sweet and the apples weren't mushy. I will definitely be making this one again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA
Living In: Stockton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I couldn't really taste the caramel so this was more of a plain apple pie, but it was still really good. I made my own caramel sauce by bringing a 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 2 tablespoons of half and half, 2 tablespoon of butter, a pinch of salt, and a dash of vanilla to a boil. In the apple filling I cut down the sugar to a 1/2 cup and used 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice instead of the 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to give the pie a stonger spice flavor. I didn't use the pecans and I brushed the top crust with milk before putting it in the oven. I did find the pie a little on the runny side and it made the bottom crust really soggy, so next time I would add 1 more tablespoon of cornstarch. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I like pie sweet. The carmel almost over powered the apples, you couldn't really taste the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This pie is excellent, I have made it with and without the pecans and it is great either way! Thsi recipe is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I wish I had read the reviews before baking this pie. It was runny. I should of added more cornstarch and maybe less carmel. But then, it would not have the carmel flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Wow. First of all, let me start by saying that i do not like fruit pies or cobbler...something about the idea of cooked fruit makes my skin crawl. Buuuuuuut, I figured that it wouldn't hurt to have an apple pie recipe under my belt just in case. I stumbled across this recipe and thought I'd give it a go; am I glad I did! It was excellent, even to a non-apple-pie-eater like myself. I made it last Saturday, took it to my grandmother's house Sunday, and by Monday it no longer existed. I made very few, minimal changes: in addition to the white sugar, I added 3 TBS of brown. I put more caramel than the recipe called for, and next time I will put even more (I love caramel!). Based on other reviews, I added a couple of extra tablespoons of cornstarch, especially because my caramel was runny. I waited until it was cooled to cut it and the consistency was perfect. The pecans were also a great touch! All in all, a fantastic recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I needed to use up some red delicious apples that were about to go soft. I wasn't sure how this would turn out since the apples were already mealy, but cooking them in this pie totally salvaged them. Somehow in the pie they seemed crisp. I only had about half the quantity of needed apples so it turned out like a tart but with the nuts and the drizzle of caramel, that worked out just fine as an alternative to a heaping apple pie. I used walnuts in place of pecans because that is what I had on hand. I thought the pie was a perfect balance between sweet and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
It was So Good, but not I am going to die becouse I found the best pie in the world good. It did get a bit runny, but the flavor was great. I took the advice of other people's comments and put on a crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States