Caramel Apple Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Amazing! I made this as a Christmas gift, and it was so appreciated. Thanks for the awesome recipe! I actually made the jam two days before Christmas. Just a note: The jam takes two days to fully set and I found that I added a lot more than half a cup of water to the apples. If you need to, add water little by little until you achieve the right consistency. I also mashed my apples at the the end of their cooking to make sure the jam was not to chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HRS
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
5 star definitely! with one modification, chopping the apples small, really small. Like everyone mentions, it doesn't really taste like caramel, but it does have the caramel color. A few things to consider: My sister-in-law made some soon after I did and all she had was dark brown sugar (I used light brown) and I think it looks better with the light brown sugar, though they both tasted excellent. And also, when it says to bring the water and apples to a boil, it doesn't really boil, per se, because it's not like you've got a soupy/watery texture yet, so more just wait to hear air bubbles rise to the surface (little air noises -poof-). If you make this you might know what I mean. I only added 1/2 c water, like the recipe states and so you aren't going to get a "boil". Anyways, and yes, once you add the sugars, it gets very liquidy, then it will boil. Oh, and sooo incredibly tasty on fresh baked cinnamon raisin bread. Almost makes me want to carve a pumpkin or rake leaves or something. Very "fall" tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Delicious! This was my first attempt at jam and it turned out beautifully. i followed the recipe exactly, except I added just a little bit more butter. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I have made this twice now and it is so good! It tastes just like apple pie. I use my food chopper to chop the apples really small. This is really easy and it makes a great presentation in the jar. I'm planning on making this for Christmas gifts if I don't eat it all first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
VERY VERY GOOD!!!! I made this as a gift for my family for Christmas yesturday! They are going to love it! I made anyone who was at the house try it and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corey is Boston Strong!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lunenburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
OH MY GOSH!! this is DELICIOUS! It doesn't have a caramel flavor though....it tastes like apple pie! Delicious on toast or english muffins with a little butter! I will definately make this again. Makes a great gift!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Great! It was also my first try at jam and has turned out great! I used about a cup of water. Next time I will add a little less nutmeg (it was a little too spicey for me) and will also make sure I chop my apples smaller (it looks great in the jar but it is a little to chunky when eating it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
GREAT!! My first batch ended up a little chunky. The second time I made it I mashed any apple chunks left so it was nice and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osakis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Great recipe! The pectin doesn't set the jam up too much... the consistency is still like a jam. I always double the recipe to get 12-14 tiny jelly jars full. I've given almost all of them away as gifts. They look beautiful. A great way to get rid of those excess Fall apples! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I made this today, and it turned out great!. The only thing, I made a double batch, but only got 3 qts, plus a cup full left over. A lot of apples are needed if you are going to make many quarts of jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States