Caramel Apple Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Putting the apples through a food processor after peeling/coring is definitely a time saver. I have made this twice now - great reviews from everyone, young & old. Nothing like kick starting your morning with an applie pie taste to your toast. :) I get 7 jars of jam from this recipe. THANK YOU for posting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Bracken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Amazing! I made this as a Christmas gift, and it was so appreciated. Thanks for the awesome recipe! I actually made the jam two days before Christmas. Just a note: The jam takes two days to fully set and I found that I added a lot more than half a cup of water to the apples. If you need to, add water little by little until you achieve the right consistency. I also mashed my apples at the the end of their cooking to make sure the jam was not to chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Great! It was also my first try at jam and has turned out great! I used about a cup of water. Next time I will add a little less nutmeg (it was a little too spicey for me) and will also make sure I chop my apples smaller (it looks great in the jar but it is a little to chunky when eating it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This jam tastes divine. I made two batches; one yesterday, one today. For the firt batch, I ran the apples through my food processor, and decided to forgo the spices in favor of a more caramelly flavor. For the second batch, I diced the apples as directed and used the spices. I'm not sure what happened, but the first batch set up wonderfully and tasted delicious. However, the second batch remained syrupy, though I followed the recipe more exactly. I'm not sure why, but jam is like that sometimes! Still, even though it didn't set up, that second batch is going to be a delicious syrup for pancakes, so it won't be wasted. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This jam is awesome. I agree with other posts/reviews that it tastes more like apple pie that caramel apples. I had a tonne of applesauce in the freezer so I used 6 cups of sauce and left out the butter. I used everything else as listed and it turned out amazing. I made two batches and ended up getting 19 - 250 ml jars. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This recipe tastes great, but I have issues. Understand you are making applesauce into a "jam". So process your apples in your favorite way and then follow this recipe. There are certainly more time and product efficient ways to process apples than dicing them. This has similar flavor to the "All Day Apple Butter" on this site without the all day cooking. Because you are using pectin you are actually gelling the liquid instead of cooking it out,so,I suppose one could call it a jam in stead of apple butter. But- apples have pectin naturally adding pectin just makes it gell faster. I tried this recipe because it sounded interesting, but I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Homemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I have made this twice now and it is so good! It tastes just like apple pie. I use my food chopper to chop the apples really small. This is really easy and it makes a great presentation in the jar. I'm planning on making this for Christmas gifts if I don't eat it all first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a great base recipe. Based on my jamming experience, I modified as follows: I increased the water to a full cup, added 2 tablespoons of lemon juice to the chopped apples, reduced the white sugar to 2-1/2 cups, and for spices I added 1 teaspoon apple pie spice (makes it taste like apple pie.) I've canned three batches so far (the recipe gives me a little over 6 half pints) and the feedback from friends and family is really good. Note that sometimes the jam takes a day or two to really set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Why isn't this recipe famous??? It is the MOST DELICIOUS fruit-based recipe I've ever made and the flavor is out of this world. I sliced (not chopped) my apples, so it didn't set up like jam and I've been using as cheesecake and pancake toppings. I'm also eating the apples right out of the jar...mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I'd like to hear from the author... I found this jam to be very thick. Are you sure only 1/2 cup water is needed? Otherwise, very good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coal City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clear Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States