Caramel Apple Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I made this today and it's like an apple pie in a jar! I used pint jars and it made six and a little extra I put in the refrigerator. I like it chunky so the only thing I can't figure out is how to keep the apple chunks from floating to the top. I am fairly new at this and can't wait to make more. I mixed up my apples and used 1 large fuji, 4 gala and 3 delicious apples. I started with a 1/2 cup of water but it seemed really thick before adding the sugars/spices. Just in case I added another 1/2 cup of water and it was fine. I also added some (a handful) of frozen cranberries chopped up. I thought the color contrast would be pretty. The cranberries boiled down but it's still really good. Will play more with it and looking forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was very good. It made 7 8oz jars. I used Pink Lady apples fresh from the orchard and diced them small. I left the skin on and it didn't affect any of the setting process or the taste. I did add a sprinkle of apple pie spice by accident (misread my spice jars) and it seems to have enhanced the apple pie flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Fantastic and easy. This recipe replaced our traditional apple butter that we make every fall. Will add to the annual family canning party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is a great base recipe. Based on my jamming experience, I modified as follows: I increased the water to a full cup, added 2 tablespoons of lemon juice to the chopped apples, reduced the white sugar to 2-1/2 cups, and for spices I added 1 teaspoon apple pie spice (makes it taste like apple pie.) I've canned three batches so far (the recipe gives me a little over 6 half pints) and the feedback from friends and family is really good. Note that sometimes the jam takes a day or two to really set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Love it! My kids love it! I used small green apples that my mother-in-law brought me from her tree. I have 20 jars of this right now that I am saving to give out as gifts. I mash the apples with a potato masher just before adding the pectin and it works great. But I used 3/4 cups of water instead of 1/2 - just seemed like too little. My kids warm this up and eat it as is or with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
So easy to make and it tastes delicious! I made some extra to give as christmas presents. Everybody loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sra Carranza

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
far better than store bought jam, but not as caramely as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Love it - Thank you for figuring out how to bottle caramel apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
It does taste like apple pie...but has a hint of caramel taste. I did leave some peel on like other cooks suggested. I used apples from a neighbors tree that were really sour and it came out delicious! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extravagantdesigns

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mahnomen, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is so yummy! Tastes just like apple pie! Thanx for this wonderful recipe, it is just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Poirier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States