Caramel Apple Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I would like to shake this master baker's hand and I don't even like apples! This was awesome, and I did need to add a little more water to my dry apples but it came out delighfully! It was easy and I had a ton of free apples to deal with. I can't wait to present my jam in my holiday gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Delicious, not Jam like but great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
DELISH! This jam tastes just like apple pie in a jar! I used it in my apple streusel muffins and they came out perfect. Thank you for this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I am giving this a 5 star because I am sure it would have been. My husband was helping me make this. While I was stirring he was adding ingredients and i suddenly smelled chili, well he put cumin in it instead of cinnamon. We went with it and added more cinnamon and nutmeg to cover the taste. Can't do anthing but laugh! Still taste great! Although I have to say it was not a quick recipe to make, Someone time consuming comapred to most Jelly recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
it was really good but as i have seen other people say it was really thick also it tasted to me more like apple pie filling and nothin like caramel apples but i definatly will be makin it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I made this twice and both times the jam did not set up properly. I suspect it has something to do with the fact that the initial part of the recipe, cooking the apples with a tiny amount of liquid and butter, results in very little liquid in which to boil the pectin. I did use a food processor to chop the apples (so much faster) and that sped things along, but I have to say I'm disappointed in this one. I'm going to try and re-make the jam but would have much preferred that it come out right the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This jam is sooo good! My kids just love it...and the hubby does too! I followed the recipe to a T and it came out amazing. Thank you Robert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gskatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Splendid! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
12/26/10: I'll have to come back and rate again when I've tried this jam, but for now I'll just rate on the process. I processed the apples--worked really well. I got 6 full jelly jars out of this and had about 1/4 left over. It looks beautiful, and it jelled just fine. Not sure about other's issues with the pectin, but mine worked well and jelled the day I made it. It was very easy, too. Don't be afraid of the water bath processing if you've never done it--all you need is a large pot of boiling water: put the jam in your jars, seal, then place in the water for ten minutes, then take out. The jars should seal--you'll hear a popping sound--as they cool. Mine usually seal within a 1/2 hour or so, although one took a lot longer than that--no matter, it still sealed. Any jars that don't seal can be reprocessed or stored in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe! Update 2/12/11: We had this for breakfast on toast and we think it's delicious! The caramel flavor is subtle, but I think it's still there. I like the combo of spices and brown sugar; if you added more brown sugar and less spices you might get more caramel flavor, but I have to say we love it as is. I'm glad I processed the apples so they weren't big chunks, but even so, it looks and tastes very good. For those of you still having difficulty with the jam setting, try following the pectin package directions; sometimes that helps. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This product is outstanding. I made a batch and then made a double and then another double. I can barely keep up. I save some time by dicing about half of the apples and grating the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States