Caramel Apple Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Ok I made this today and I really did change it up. I used 3 pkgs of ham glaze that we did not use on our sprial cut hams insstead of the sugar and brown sugar. Plus it already had the spices added to them. Did not add water but the apples and pectin the exact same. I did use 3 tbs. butter and it is GREAT! Really good on top of cream cheese puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Reminds me of apple filling in donuts or the apple filling for danishes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Tasty....but this did not set up as I thought it should. My neighbors enjoyed it and compared it to a "chutney" in texture or as a great topping for ice cream. This was my first ever attempt at any jam so I was nervous to boot. My jars sealed properly and again it was pretty yummy tasting. Just not firm and spreadable as I would have hoped. I did run my apples through the food processor for finer pieces. Other then that made 7 jars of jam, thanks for my first "canning" experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I refrained from adding the spices - opting for more of a pure caramel flavor. Changed the measurements for the 2 sugars to 50/50%. Still didn't give me the caramel taste I was hoping for. Next time - I'll increase the brown sugar amount....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robbybaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
We have never had apple jam before but I was tired of apple butter so I decided to make jam this year instead with our apples from the orchard. I used Mcintosh apples, followed the recipe, and it turned out wonderfully so I made 2 batches! The first batch made 7 jam jars with a little extra I put in the fridge and the second made 9- I think this is because I was a little quicker with the second batch and didn't let it simmer for so long. Will make again and am planning on giving it for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
First time jam maker and this was very easy and the result was delicious!! I altered it by only using 2 cups brown sugar and no white sugar, used 6 1/2 cups apples and used 1 cup water. Next time I will probably only use 1 cup brown sugar as 2 was still pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
VERY good! I did use a full cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Next time I think I will add a lot more cinnamon, but otherwise it was wonderful! I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Excellent! Only change was to increase the cinnamon to a full teaspoon, and since my pectin came in a large jar I used 3 1/2 Tbsp after searching online for an equivalent to 1.75 oz. It set beautifully, with little bits of apple suspended throughout. Tastes a lot like apple butter, but more jelly-like. I got six 8-oz. jars (plus another about 3/4 full) out of one recipe. I used Cortland apples, but would like to make another batch with a more tart apple next time (soon!). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by cookin4eight
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Overall this is a great recipe! I did however make a few adjustments per reviews of others. I used 1 cup water and 1/4 c. butter to cook apples in. After cooking apples I used hand blender to mash up the real soft apples, but left chuncks to make the jam look pretty in the jar (which it does look beautiful). Another note that I think may be useful is that the recipe calls for 1.75 oz package of pectin, but I buy the pectin in the bulk jar, not packets, so after much research I found that 3.5 Tbsp is equal to a 1.75 oz packet. The jam is great! delicious on a slice of wheat toast with coffee in the morning! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4eight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States