Caramel Apple Crumble Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was delicious.. My first apple pie! I drizzled caramel sauce on top of the crumb coating and it formed a delectable candy texture. I tried both the corn starch and flour on the bottom so did not really think it came out soggy. Next time I would omit the caramel sauce on the bottom because some find it too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I love the crumble on top! I made it just as the recipe called for. I think next time I'll try the flour/cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Ragle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This was INCREDIBLE. When I put all the sliced apples into the pie shell, I was a little concerned because they were piled SO high. The crumble topping was a little perilous! But the apples baked down a little bit, and it turned out fine. It was devoured in no time at all! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Foster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
That is one freaking delicious apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was quick, easy and so yummy! I served this with vanilla ice cream and my kids and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SlickSil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Just Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I read through all the reviews before attempting this recipe. I took the submitters advice and sprinkled flour over the bottom crust so it wouldn't be soggy. I also cut back the brown sugar in the filling by half so it wouldn't be too sweet (as quite a few reviewers commented it was too sweet) and added nutmeg to the topping and filling. I used pecans in the topping instead of almonds only because my husband dosen't like almonds. I thought there was a little too much topping, I didn't use it all. I think next time I make the crumble topping, I'll increase the butter. This came out very well, it was a very pretty pie. The issue I had was though it looked quite pretty, once I cut it, it bled all over the place and fell apart. And it didn't taste good with the extra flour on the bottom to keep it from being soggy. We didn't go past that. I'm sorry.It was pretty. I feel bad that it just didn't work out for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I did use granny smith but left out the lemon juice and it was good this way. I just forgot it, but since an ealreir review said granny smiths were bitter, I think it was a good thing. I also skipped the almonds in the topping because I didn't have any, and it was great. The second time I made it, I made it in a 9x13 aluminum pan and did 1 1/2 times the recipe and I used pecans because it is what I already had. I drizzed it with a little of the carmel sauce for looks too. I used the No roll Pie Crust I from this site and it was great too. Mixed the dough right in the pan I spread it in. Very easy. Great recipe. taking it to a wienie roast tonight. Oh, I did double the cinnamon in the topping, but I love cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Very tasty! Mine was a little runny, but this did not detract from eating it all. Perhaps next time I will add a little tapioca to my apple mixture to thicken it up. I baked the crust per a previous suggestion and it kept it from being soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I made this pie and it turned out very soupy. I did add extra flour and cornstarch like some of the other reviews said they did, but it stilled turned out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: East Earl, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States