Caramel Apple Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Apples did not get done-Took to Ron and Tina's Thanksgiving 2013. It was OK-may make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Delicious recipe. I made 5 pies (2 pumpkin, 1 Apple, 1 mixed berry, and this one) for Thanksgiving and this was the first to go! Everybody grabbed a slice of this for their first slice, I was wishing I would have made 2. I followed the recipe as is, only difference is I didn't have lemon juice somehow, so I just put the sliced apples in ice water and that worked fine. Highly recommended, will make this recipe again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it. I think it was a a lot better the next day. Easy to make. I did all the prep the night before and then popped it in the oven that morning. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit with my family! I will definitely make this again. (I used store bought pie crust and it was still delicious.) I had to add about 1/2 cup of water to the sauce because it was just too thick, but was still fantastic and was not runny at all. Caution, it ran over in my oven, so place a cookie sheet under the pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I made this pie for Thanksgiving, and it was a HUGE hit. I followed the recipe to the letter, and it turned out great. I did do the lattice top so that venting would not be an issue. My only suggestion is to have the ingredients pre-measured and ready to add while at the stove. It comes together fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
The pie was good, no not just good, very good, but had a few too many cranberries for my taste(and I do like dried cranberries). If I add them next time I will cut the quantity to 1/2 cup. Great w/ice cream as my husband will attest. He ate almost the whole pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vivian, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was a really good pie. I wish I had put more apples into it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
It was ok, very wet. However it smelled and looked amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I make this every year for Thanksgiving. I omit the cranberries since not everyone likes them but other than that I follow the recipe with no changes. The caramel sauce really is a nice touch and makes it better than an ordinary apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made this for our church Thanksgiving pie social. It was not a hit. Even though it was labeled Caramel Cranberry Apple Pie, the cranberries looked like raisins, which does not look appetizing in an apple pie. (All the pies were cut up and served on plates). Also, because I sprinkled the cinnamon and sugar on the top crust as the directions say, the cinnamon made the pie look burnt or dirty. I think overall the flavor of the pie was fine, it was more aesthetic problems, and I made a pretty pie. I didn't make the lattice top, instead I cut out about 30-40 small maple leafs out of the dough and laid them on top in a pattern, leaving room for the filling to bubble up. I got lots of compliments on that. So, if you are going to make this pie, my biggest recommendation would be to add the extra cinnamon to the apples, not to the top crust. I would still sprinkle the sugar on the top, which is what I do to all of my covered fruit pies. I think the cinnamon on the top was the biggest issue, with the cranberries looking like raisins being the 2nd.. I personally think a regular apple pie is still better than a caramel cranberry apple ; I will be sticking to my go-to apple pie recipe from "The Joy Of Cooking."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States