Caramel Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
taste is good but can someone please tell me a better way to get it out of the pan because it falls apart & is stuck then it looks a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loretta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I read the reviews and added an egg, plus added 15mins to the baking time as I used a ring pan. Turned out great. Oh, i used freshly squeezed orange juice in place of water just coz i wanted to use up some oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Very good, I followed some of the other recommendations, used milk instead of water, added 2 eggs, 1 tsp. vanilla and nutmeg in both the caramel and the batter. I also used about 5 total apples and did the whole thing in a 10 inch cast iron pan. Cooked 40 minutes in the oven and it was perfect! Definitely put a cookie sheet under your pan to catch the drips. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Halifax, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
We didn't care for this one--sorry : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Found this cake a little too salty. I also had to cook it for longer than the recipe calls for. Otherwise, it was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Amazing. As some others did I added an egg. Next time I am going to add a little vanilla also. I did not have pecans, however I used walnuts and they were great! I baked at 350 for apprx 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This cake looked and tasted good the first day, but after that the caramel topping soaked into the cake and it was a mushy mess. Will not make again...Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I would give this a 5 star rating except I had the same problem with it that my fellow bakers had....It was not done after specified time. I baked mine for 50 minutes and it turned out perfect. I really needed this cake to turn out good because I made another apple cake off of this site and it was horrid. So that was my husbands first impression of apple cake. once this was ready to eat he loved it, I loved it. I have made this twice. Just make sure you let it cool long enough before turning it over or the apples will stick to the bottom of the pan. Other than the cook time this was a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This recipe is very yummy! I have a prolific Gravenstein apple tree, and am always trying out new recipes to use the apples. I mixed the topping with an electric mixer, which made mixing a snap! It came out the consistency of frosting, and pre-cooked nibbles were delicious. I rounded up the topping (or bottoming?) to use up the odd tablespoon of butter. So, instead of 3T, I used 4T (or 1/4 cup) and rounded the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. I didn't check the size of my pan and accidentally used an 8" pan. It was a disaster, but my fault. I will try it again soon with the right size pan! This would be an excellent brunch type cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States