Caramel Apple Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
just OK. used 11 oz caramels, not enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
it's not too bad if you preferred love apple and a bit thick of this bar. But for me this not my favorite at all. And thanks for you recipe too ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anny

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I used a very similar recipe - the only differences were no lemon juice on the apples and the addition of 3 Tbsp butter or margarine for melting the caramels. I signed on here to see if there were any suggestions for replacing all those caramels - what a pain, and they take forever to melt! But the recipe itself is delicious, we cut and serve it at room temperature. I would have preferred more of a caramel taste but my husband thought it was perfect. When drizzling the caramel I suggest keeping it away from the edges, if it sticks to the dish when baking it gets really hard. I am going to try the caramel topping next time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dzm388

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by corinaesq
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
My kids, husband and co-workers all LOVED these bars. I found them a tad sweet. I think they would benefit from a little lemon added to the apples if you're using sweet ones (I used Rome), or else use sour apples (like Granny Smith). A little sea salt added to the caramel might make the "caramel-ness" stand out a bit more, as well. But I liked the fact that I could use fresh apples for a bar cookie, and these worked out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corinaesq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This tastes SO good, but it was more likely a cobbler than bars. The only change I made was the addition of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice (which I would absolutely recommend). I would make these again, but I wouldn't cut them. I would serve it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
YUM! This will become a fall tradition in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojomama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lone Tree, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Certainly not something you can eat without a plate and a fork, as "bar" would suggest, but absolutely yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Super yummy. I think I will use a bit less salt next time and try more caramels. I mixed the crust/topping in my kitchen aid mixer, melted the caramels on med-low then poured over the apples. Baked 25 mins then let them cool for about an hour before cutting then let them sit another 30 mins before removing from pan. I would let them sit longer to set but they held together just enough that we could eat them as bars w/o needing a utensil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
These bars were delicious!! I baked the bottom crust first for about 12 mins and that helped keep the bars together. I also added cinnamon to the apples like other reviewers had suggested which was a nice touch :) The caramels were a little tricky but I put them in a saucepan on low heat with a little water(since I didnt have milk) and kept stirring so they wouldnt stick, then drizzled it on the apples. The only thing I would change is probably eliminating the salt all together. I could kind of taste it in the bars and it just wasnt my preference. Overall, the bars turned out great and I'd definitely make them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These are divine. They are somewhat crumbly, but we just ate them with forks. Warm them in the microwave for extra scrumptiousness. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States