Caramel Apple Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Lucious! Took them to a VFW potluck, was told by the young bartender that these were the best cookies/bars I've made yet! I made them without nuts to please DH, but they were still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I, like many others, put most of the crumble into the crust and I also put more apples than called for. This is just awesome! I took it to church and to a friend's house at Thanksgiving, and everyone loved it. This will be one of my new signature desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
These bars were delicious and the caramel added a lot to the taste. It was rather crumbly when it was cut so next time would use half amount of mixture for topping and use more for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
These bars are excellent!! I followed the recipe as written, except I added 1/2 t. cinnamon to the oatmeal batter and used 2/3 of the batter for the crust instead of only 1/2(I thought it would make them easier to hold when eating if the bottom crust was a little thicker). I also sprinkled a little cinnamon over the apple before topping with the nuts. I baked them 25 minutes. They turned out picture perfect and tasted incredibly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TESSLYNN
Home Town: Robins, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I used this recipe on Halloween and Thanksgiving, and it was a big hit! Thanks Christine!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher Marple
Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This was a quick and easy recipe. My daughter needed to bring something with apples and boy was this a hit. Thank you for sharing. It was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Turned out a little mushy. I used golden delicious apples, and I use 3 apples instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Tasty bars Christine. I followed your instructions implicitly except that I tossed about 1/2t of cinnamon in with the apples for a little more depth of flavor. I used Cameo apples. The taste and texture were perfect. The bottom crust was like eating an oatmeal cookie, too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
It really didn't take a lot of time to cook, but you must use fresh apples. I made it once with apple filling and it made it too soggy. I liked it a lot, but I made them for a bake sale at school, and I had quite a few left over. My kids weren't impressed either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKAESIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States