Caramel Apple Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
These turned out really good and I will make them again! I made a few changes. I took the previous posters advice and put 2/3 of the crust in the bottom of the pan and usd the remaining 1/3 on top instead of doing 1/2 and 1/2. That way, the bottom crust is sturdier and you can see the apples better which is more appealing to the eye. I only had one cup of caramel sauce so I just adjusted the amount of flour and it seemed to be plenty. I incread the apples to about 3 and 1/2 cups but I would still like more. I felt that the apple flavor got a little lost. I will try 4 and 1/2 Cups next time. Also, I used 2 Gala and one red delicious apple because that is what I had on hand, next time I will use Granny Smith for a tarter bite. All in all, very good recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
My 5 year old daughter wanted to take caramel and apples to school for snack. I convinced her that it would be kind of difficult (and MESSY) for her teacher to scoop out caramel and serve 25 kindergarteners with no help. So...I went looking for a recipe that might be a little less messy and still appease her craving. This recipe was easy enough. And we had all ingredients on hand. However, something went wrong with the caramel topping/flour mixture. It says to boil for 3-5 minutes. I went with 4 to be safe. It came out so hard that I had to just lump it in piles around the perimeter. I tried to smooth it with a spatula, but no luck. I thought maybe after baking it would smooth out or melt down. No luck! It just baked in the oven in clumps. Maybe I boiled it too long. If I try again I think I might skip the flour, or atleast use less - it seemed to thicken too much. And boil for 2 - 3 minutes, tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Very tasty. And, FILLING! I used Jazz apples and added Penzey's Apple Pie Spice to the crust mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I brought these to work for a party-they were a hit-really be sure to watch the caramel topping-mine burned the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Lucious! Took them to a VFW potluck, was told by the young bartender that these were the best cookies/bars I've made yet! I made them without nuts to please DH, but they were still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I, like many others, put most of the crumble into the crust and I also put more apples than called for. This is just awesome! I took it to church and to a friend's house at Thanksgiving, and everyone loved it. This will be one of my new signature desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
These bars were delicious and the caramel added a lot to the taste. It was rather crumbly when it was cut so next time would use half amount of mixture for topping and use more for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
These bars are excellent!! I followed the recipe as written, except I added 1/2 t. cinnamon to the oatmeal batter and used 2/3 of the batter for the crust instead of only 1/2(I thought it would make them easier to hold when eating if the bottom crust was a little thicker). I also sprinkled a little cinnamon over the apple before topping with the nuts. I baked them 25 minutes. They turned out picture perfect and tasted incredibly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TESSLYNN
Home Town: Robins, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I used this recipe on Halloween and Thanksgiving, and it was a big hit! Thanks Christine!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher Marple
Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
This was a quick and easy recipe. My daughter needed to bring something with apples and boy was this a hit. Thank you for sharing. It was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States