Caramel Apple Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Pretty good. I've tried lots of apple recipes this season and this was a pleasant change from the traditional apple pie. I like the subtle caramel flavor but I think I prefer a regular crisp over this one. It was certainly easy enough but very rich and almost too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Love this recipe! Found ourselves with three boxes of apples from the orchard and wanted to try something new. This was a pleaser for sure! My hubby ate half the pan in one day. Will be making this again this weekend since we still have apples left over. So yummy! My only change is to make more of the crust and topping mixtures to make sure the whole top gets covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
We LOVED this recipe! I ended up putting 2/3 of the crust on the bottom so it would be thick enough as another reviewer suggested and left 1/3 for the top which was perfect. We also ended up using 4 1/2 cups of Granny Smith apples so there would be apples in every bite. Everyone who ate this raved about it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was delicious! We ate it however as more of a crisp. I did add more apples like others had said and sprinkled the apples with some white sugar and cinnamon. Also, did layer about 2/3 of the crust mixture on the bottom and then the rest on top with a little white sugar sprinkled on the top. Will definitely make this again, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Since caramel apples don't include cinnamon, I liked the recipe as is--caramel and apples, no cinnamon as others chose to add, and the flavor was just perfect. I used 2/3 of the mixture for the bottom crust and the remainder for the topping and I was happy with that. No need to measure the apples, just use enough to cover. I made half the recipe, which was just perfect in a 7x11" pan, but a 9x9" would have worked well too. I have mixed feelings about these bars--while they are delicious, they are not a sturdy bar so are best suited to "cut as you go" and eaten with a fork. Given that I made these for my husband's staff, this was not a practical choice when what I needed was a "grab and go" bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I diverted from the recipe and followed the suggestions of previous reviewers to use more apples (4 1/2 cups), reduce brown sugar to 1 cup, add a tsp of cinnimon and 1/2 tsp of salt. With the changes, the result was more like a crisp than a bar, and much of the caramel flavor was lost (this was easily remedied by adding a drizzle of caramel before eating). Probably the best apple crisp I've ever had - love the oatmeal cookie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
These are amazing bars! I made a few of the recommended changes, plus some others. I was using very sweet apples, so I reduced the brown sugar to 1 cup, and that turned out to be perfect, so I think no matter what kind of apples I use, I'll always use less sugar (between the caramel and the apples and the sugar, one cup is enough for me). I also added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of salt to the cookie mixture, and it tasted very, very good! I want to make cookies out of it, I liked it so much. I used 2/3 of the cookie mixture for the crust, and baked it 3 minutes longer than written. I used a lot more apple slices than written in order to make a single layer on top of the crust. I made my own caramel sauce from here. I doubled it, and had 1/2 cup leftover. These were phenomenal and almost obscenely buttery (but the oats and the apple make up for it, right?). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Yummy! I'm eating this as I write, and these are amazing! The only thing I would suggest is making your own caramel, cause store-bought+flour just doesn't cut it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tessia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Really easy. Substituted pecans for walnuts. May add some cinnamon next time. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
These turned out really good and I will make them again! I made a few changes. I took the previous posters advice and put 2/3 of the crust in the bottom of the pan and usd the remaining 1/3 on top instead of doing 1/2 and 1/2. That way, the bottom crust is sturdier and you can see the apples better which is more appealing to the eye. I only had one cup of caramel sauce so I just adjusted the amount of flour and it seemed to be plenty. I incread the apples to about 3 and 1/2 cups but I would still like more. I felt that the apple flavor got a little lost. I will try 4 and 1/2 Cups next time. Also, I used 2 Gala and one red delicious apple because that is what I had on hand, next time I will use Granny Smith for a tarter bite. All in all, very good recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States