Caramel Apple Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Yum, the whole family loved these. I cooked them in a square pan. Used a cup of yellow cake mix, 1 cup flour & heaping 1 cup old fashioned oats, 1 cup brown sugar & about 3/4 cup or so of butter. Cooked it about 11 minutes. Threw 2 green apples in the food processor for ease. Sprinkled with my homemade pumpkin pie spice. Accidentely forgot any nuts. Cooked it for 30 minues. It was SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Delicious! Everyone loved these. I did use about 3/4 on the bottom and 1/4 on the top. The apples and caramel showing through looked great and the crust did need more. I dusted the apples with cinnamon, used pecans instead of walnuts and also sprinkled some pampered chef sweet caramel sprinkle on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I loved them, but they didn't go very quickly at a family reunion potluck. I might experiment with using less butter so I don't feel so guilty eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
OMG! These were incerdible. I baked them in a 9x9 inch pan, instead of the 10x15, so they were thick and gooey. I did increase the bake time. The bottom layer I baked for 11 minutes, and the whole thing for 28 minutes. Instead of caramel ice cream topping, I used 1 1/2 cups of the PRALINE SUNDAE TOPPING, also from the AR website (I left the pecans out). I dusted the apples with a little cinnamon before I topped with the walnuts, caramel mixture, and remaining crust layer. This recipe is definitely going to become a fall staple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy_jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Tasted really good, but did not hold together very well! I used 2/3 of the dry mixture for the crust too, but used more apples then suggested so that could have been why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Oh, boy! This recipe is so rich and so sweet that I don't know if that's a good or a bad thing. To me, the crust/topping is a little overboard and it could use more apples to tone down the sweetness of the caramel. I think a little cinnamon might be good in the crust/topping mixture next time. For me, this turned out not so much like bars like I was hoping, but an apple crisp. I ended up baking mine for a little over 30 minutes and it still could have used a little more time to get the apples softer. May make again, but it certainly doesn't replace making apple crisp or an apple pie in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very very good. I used 2 cups of caramel, and refridgerated over night. Recipe was requested by many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
AMAZING!! I used peanuts instead of the nuts called for since it was all I had, but it was FABULOUS! I will DEFINITELY be making this again! This is my new apple crisp recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Pretty good. I've tried lots of apple recipes this season and this was a pleasant change from the traditional apple pie. I like the subtle caramel flavor but I think I prefer a regular crisp over this one. It was certainly easy enough but very rich and almost too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Love this recipe! Found ourselves with three boxes of apples from the orchard and wanted to try something new. This was a pleaser for sure! My hubby ate half the pan in one day. Will be making this again this weekend since we still have apples left over. So yummy! My only change is to make more of the crust and topping mixtures to make sure the whole top gets covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States