Caramel Apple Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This is one of the greatest desserts I have made! Everyone asked me for this recipe - and everyone wanted seconds! I used Granny Smith apples to add a little tartness. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
We thought this was very yummy. I used twice the apples as in the recipe and in the future I will add probably double that. The taste was wonderful but we thought it was really sugary and could use more apples. I also used whole wheat flour and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
These were good, but gooey and messy. I tried to help keep them together by doubling up on the crust for more support. I also added a couple spices to the apples to give them more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These were very tasty - kids loved them - but they were a bit on the gooey side. Needed a fork to eat them. More like a dessert than a bar you can pick up and eat on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking in Duluth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I made these for a bake sale at work and they went fast! I used 3 cups of apples (Granny Smith) because it looked too sparse. And I didn't see a need to boil the caramel. Instead, I ran it under hot water to make it more spreadable, then heated it up in a saucepan with the flour. I, among others, liked the fact that they weren't too sweet, and were "healthier" than anything else at the bake sale. They were easier to make than I thought! I will definitely make these again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Oh my Apple Pie! =) These are incredibly addicting, incredibly delicious, and incredibly rich. I love them. They were very easy to make - but very hard to wait for them to cool down enough to try one! Followed recipe for the most part, just substituted pecans in place of walnuts and a butterscotch-caramel sauce (turned out fab). I used Naples suggestion of 2/3 of crust on bottom and I am really glad I did that instead...much prettier to see bits of caramel and apple. Used 3 med-size HoneyCrisp apples - may add more next time. Also, would probably bake the bottom crust a couple extra minutes to have a sturdier base. These will be such a hit at the office - I cannot wait to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This were a huge hit at the party I took them to. I wanted more apple taste, so next time I will up the apple. I actually think these were far better the next day, so they're a good make-ahead dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This recipe is a keeper for sure. I made only 2 changes based on other reviews. I placed the ENTIRE crust recipe on the bottom for a firmer bar and made a 2nd half batch of crust to sprinkle over the top. I also tossed the sliced apples in some cinnamon for a more festive flavor. This was so quick and easy. I will be coming back to this one again and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Great, yummy caramelly goodness! I also put more crust on the bottom, but I also chopped the apples so they melted down more. GREAT apple dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Made these in a 9x13 pan. So delicious! These bars are amazing. I reduced the butter slightly to about 1c. and that was the only change. They cut perfectly and the many different textures of this bar was made it a hit. Make sure you cut your apples nice and thin so they are soft and not hard after baking. A great fall dessert. Love it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States