Caramel Apple Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were very good. I made some changes as some reviewers suggested: I sliced 4 Granny Smith's apples and microwaved them with a little water for 5 min to soften them up before placing on crust (don't like crispy apples in my desserts!) This worked well. They were soft after being baked in the recipe. Use 20 oz. bottle of Smucker's topping, it's the perfect amount, although after cooking it on the stove it was too thick to "pour" over the apples, it was more like "spread." Also, used 2/3 of crumb mixture for crust and 1/3 for topping as suggested by others. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was good! I took other reviewers advice and cut the sugar back to 1 cup but with a tart apple I think you could use the whole amount and they would be great. I also used margarine because I didn't have butter - I don't think that made much of a difference. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
These were the hit of my party! People were eating these instead of the appetizers I made! They are sooo good! The only thing I will do next time is add more apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
These are great! Especially warm with vanilla ice cream. I would describe it kind of like apple pie on top of an oatmeal cookie. Be sure to slice your apples thin if you want them tender because it took a little longer in the oven to get mine tender and I thought I had them pretty thin. I added about a tsp of cinnamon to the apples to add a little flavor. I reduced the butter to 1 cup cuz it just seemed like a lot. The only problem I had was my crust mixture was pretty sticky and not very crumbly but I'm sure that was my fault somehow. But it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These are wonderful....perfect amount of crunch on top, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Way too little apples and way too much sugar. Honestly I don't think with the caramel sauce the crust needs any sugar. I would also at least triple the apples if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
We loved these. I wanted to cut down on fat, so I replaced 1/2 cup butter with applesauce and they still turned out wonderful. Like an apple crisp in bar form. The only thing I would change next time is to add a cup or so more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I made the recipe as is, although I added a little cinnamon sprinkled over the top before baking. This recipe is a keeper! It turned out so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made this according to the recipe and served it with real whipped cream. At first bite, I thought it might be too sweet but quickly changed my mind! My whole family LOVED this and I'm looking forward to making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
these bars were easy to make. I didn't have any problem with them sticking, or being hard to cut or falling apart. I doubled the apples, I sliced instead of chopped and I used pecans. I along with some family members felt the carmel topping didnt give it a real carmel flavor. Not as "carmelie" tasting as I imagined it would. Will make it again..but will doctor up the carmel sauce....don't over bake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States